McCrystal pushed hard by triathlete Donegan in Roscommon

Posted on: June 11th, 2018

As an international tandem pilot who has won Paralympic gold with Katie George Dunlevy, Eve McCrystal will always be highly fancied racing on home roads. She claimed the Donamon Dynamos GP (Photo: Adrian Crawley)


Eve McCrystal wins Donamon Dynamos GP in Roscommon


Pre-race favourite Eve McCrystal (Garda CC) has won the Donamon Dynamos GP in Co Roscommon.

She was pressed closest by Aine Donegan; a triathlete making great strides in road racing in the colours of Scott Orwell.

Some 25 riders lined up for the event, which was forced to stop at one point to let the men’s race pass.

After that interruption, on the third of five laps of the 16km course, the racing recommenced, with McCrystal looking strong throughout.

By the final lap the group had come down to just 1o riders, driven on by the eventual winner. Two other groups on the road chasing but being distanced.

At the finish in was McCrystal who won the sprint for victory. Donegan was in 2nd place, with Katharine Smyth (Ballymena Road Club) in 3rd place.

Next came Maeve Gallagher (Castlebar Cycling Club) from Sinnead Oakes (De Ronde Van Cork CC) and Lyndsey Bryce (Dublin Wheelers).


Sun, June 10: Donamon GP

Castlecoote, Co Roscommon

Promoted by Donamon Dynamos

  1. Eve McCrystal Garda Cycling Club
  2. Aine Donegan Scott Orwell Wheelers Cycling Club
  3. Katharine Smyth Ballymena Road Club
  4. Maeve Gallagher Castlebar Cycling Club
  5. Sinnead Oakes De Ronde Van Cork CC
  6. Lyndsey Bryce Dublin Wheelers
  7. Eileen Burns Ballymena Road Club
  8. Nessa Rochford De Ronde Van Cork CC
  9. Niamh O’Donovan TC Racing
  10. Yvonne Doran Scott Orwell Wheelers Cycling Club
  11. Sofie Loscher Sundrive Track Team
  12. Laura Campbell Ballymena Road Club
  13. Niamh O’Dwyer TC Racing
  14. Claire Ní Reachtagáin North Tipperary Wheelers
  15. Fiona Guihen Black Rose Racing
  16. Jennifer Bates Team Gerard-DHL
  17. Joanna Bula Lakeside Wheelers Mullingar CC
  18. Isobel Oakes Smugglers Cycle Club
  19. Sinead Molloy Tullamore CTC
  20. Michelle McKinney Galway Bay CC