Eddie Dunbar takes second win in fortnight with near race-long solo effort in Coachford

Posted on: May 26th, 2013

Eddie Dunbar is enjoying a seamless transition from youth to junior-senior racing, with his triumph in Coachford today the latest in a series of very strong wins so far this season.


By Brian Canty

Eddie Dunbar has stormed to his second solo win in as many weeks when he obliterated the field in the inaugural Coachford Classic in the Cork town this afternoon.

The O’Leary’s Stone Kanturk CC rider signalled his intentions on the first of seven laps when he broke clear with Ryan O’Donovan (Cork County CC) and two more, but that move was brought back around half a lap later.

And as soon as it was recaptured he jumped away again, this time taking just O’Donovan with him. But two laps later Dunbar dropped his breakaway companion and rode the remaining five laps by himself, increasing the gap with every lap.

There were a few attempts made to bridge to him but nothing that made any real impact and by the finish, the first-year junior – who will represent Ireland at the Junior Tour later in the summer – had over three minutes on the bunch.

They were led in by Fermoy’s Stephen McGrath who had a few seconds to spare on a fragmented bunch.

The course – featuring two sticky climbs – was right up Dunbar’s alley and right from the drop of the flag he was attacking, again and again. The heavy rain that fell just before the start did little to deter him.

He was the man to watch and he stung the legs of the bunch on the first climb on the 15 kilometre lap course, gapping those behind and breaking away.

But with Blarney well represented today – and none of their men in that first move – they shut it down after half a lap. Dunbar went again immediately on being caught and O’Donovan, who would later finish third, went with him. The bunch stalled – relieved that Dunbar had gone away, no doubt – and for a few laps it was a case of catching breath as the gap went out every lap.

The weather did dry up and a few chases ensued. Brendan Cassidy – last week’s winner in Kilmihil – was another to try and pull a group away on the climb, while John O’Brien (Ballymore CC) and John O’Connell (Blarney CC) were two others who were very active.

Colm Sheehan (Blarney CC) and Eoin Green (Iverk Produce Carrick Wheelers) each tried getting across but they were given very little slack. And so the laps passed with the only real excitement being that O’Donovan – who is no slouch having won a stage of the Corkman recently – got dropped.

The final lap saw a few dangerous moves go up the road including Robert Forrest (Blarney) and Ballymore’s John O’Brien.

The latter got away for over half a lap, obviously looking for second place. But he was mopped up in the final kilometre, paving the way for the bunch sprint for second, which McGrath won from O’Donovan.

The A4 race, run over five laps, was won by Jamie Blanchfield. He also won in Dungarvan last week and will now join the A3 ranks. He edged out David Williams of West Cork CC, with Blarney’s Mark McCarthy in third.



Results: The Coachford Classic


A2-A3 Race

1st Eddie Dunbarr O’Leary Stone Kanturk

2nd Stephen McGrath Fermoy CC

3rd Ryan O’Donovan Cork County CC

4th John O’Connell Blarney CC

5th Colm Sheehan Blarney CC

6th David Halligan Comeragh CC

7th James Pittam Cork County CC

8th Laurent Dumoulin O’Leary Stone Kanturk

First Woman Fiona Meade St. Finbarrs CC


A4 Race

1st Jamie Blanchfield Clonmel CC

2nd Dave Williams West Cork CC

3rd Mark McCarthy Blarney CC

4th Stephen Lynch Unattached

5th Kevin Kiely Fermoy CC

6th Joe Noonan Clare Crusaders

7th Michéal O’Shea Killorglin CC

8th Tom Hanrahan Bandon CC

First Woman Teresa O’Sullivan Béara


Under 16

1st Michael O’Laughlin Iverk Produce Carrick

2nd Simon Twomey Cork County CC

3rd Seamus Sinnott Wexford Wheelers

4th Dean Bradley Young O’Leary Stone Kanturk

5th Ruairi Dunne Iverk Produce Carrick

6th Robert O’Leary Cork County CC


Under 14

1st Tom Knight O’Leary Stone Kanturk

2nd Ronan Twomey Cork County CC

3rd Dillon Corkery O’Leary Stone Kanturk

4th Adrian Keohane Fermoy CC

5th Robbie Walsh Cork County CC

6th Konrad Grglevize O’Leary Stone Kanturk

First unplaced under13 – Cian O’Keeffe Comeragh CC

First girl – Josie Knight O’Leary Kanturk


Under 12

1st Fionn Desmond Galtee Wheelers

2nd Denis Murphy O’Leary Stone Kanturk

3rd Cormac O’Brien O’Leary Stone Kanturk

4th Orla Desmond Galtee Wheelers

5th David O’Sullivan

6th Darragh O’Doherty O’Leary Stone Kanturk

First unplaced under 11 Arnauld Dummoulin O’Leary Stone Kanturk