Donal Shearer takes deserved victory after strong start to season

Posted on: March 24th, 2019

Donal Shearer has taken a deserved win today after putting in a really strong start to the season. The Phoenix Cycling Club man has impressed in road races and TTs and it was against the clock today that he triumphed (Photo: Sharon McFarland)


Having gone close to victory in what was an exciting St Patrick’s Day race promoted by North Pole CC last weekend, Donal Shearer has come good in Co Cavan today.

The Phoenix Cycling Club man was best against the watch in the Breffni Wheelers Cycling Club 16km open TT.

In the event in Butlersbridge, in less than ideal conditions, he recorded a time of 20:27; an average of 47.24km per hour.

That was enough to give him victory by a not insignificant margin of 16 seconds over PJ McKenna of Emyvale CC.

And rounding out the podium in what was a very well-supported event was Newry Wheeler Sean Featherstone; in a time of 21:20.

Irish international Eileen Burns, a veteran of the Commonwealth Games, Europeans and Worlds claimed the women’s contest.

Indeed, the Ballymena RC woman clocked the 6th fastest time of the day; a very strong result. She stopped the clock at 22:01.

Next woman home was Jennifer Bates of Bio-DHL-FRS, in a time of 23:57. Jennifer Neenan of Sundrive Track team was 3rd in a time of 24:47.


Burns was fastest woman and was beaten by only five of the men in the field (Photo: Toby Watson)


Despite the crosswinds on the out and back flat course, the times of both Shearer and Burns were new course records.

The overall winner, Donal Shearer animated last Sunday’s racing in Donegal when his near race-long breakaway just fell short.

He was caught and passed in sight of the finish line by winner Ronan McLaughlin (Morrissey-MIG-Pactimo) and runner-up Darnell Moore (Caldwell Omagh).

Shearer had gone clear of the scratch group early in the contest, catching and going through the groups ahead.

Top junior Kevin McCambridge of Nicolas Roche PT joined him out front in his escape.

In the latter stages Shearer dropped McCambridge. His breakaway heroics very nearly netted him a win.

Shearer is a relative newcomer to cycling though won the Dunloy GP last year and his progression seems to have continued over the winter.


Sun, March 24: Breffni Open 16km TT

Promoted by Breffni Wheelers Cycling Club

Butlersbridge, Co Cavan

  1. Donal Shearer Phoenix CC A1 00:20:27
  2. PJ McKenna Emyvale CC A2 00:20:43
  3. Sean Featherstone Newry CC A2 00:21:20
  4. Liam Dolan Cuchulainn CC A1 00:21:25
  5. Johnny Kane Foyle A4 00:21:58
  6. Eileen Burns Ballymena A2 00:22:01
  7. Michael Reilly CKR A4 00:22:19
  8. Ronan Fitzpatrick Breffni Wheelers A3 00:22:21
  9. Jason Burns Ballymena A3 00:22:42
  10. Fergal McGee Apollo CT A3 00:22:59
  11. Padraic O Brien Breffni Wheelers A4 00:23:40
  12. Val Gough Breffni Wheelers A4 00:23:47
  13. Simon Diffin ACC LC 00:23:50
  14. Jennifer Bates Bioracer DHL FR Services A3 00:23:57
  15. Paul Little Breffni Wheelers A4 00:24:00
  16. Vladimir Grodzickis Breffni Wheelers LC 00:24:04
  17. John Lord Breffni Wheelers A4 00:24:12
  18. Nigel Foster Lakeland A4 00:24:23
  19. Niall Smith CKR 00:24:33
  20. Tony McConville Apollo CT A3 00:24:33
  21. Rory McIntyre Apollo CT Lc 00:24:38
  22. Kieran Elliott Breffni Wheelers LC 00:24:41
  23. Jennifer Neenan Sundrive Track Team A3 00:24:47
  24. Andy Blair Square Wheels CC LC 00:25:17
  25. Enda Baker Breffni Wheelers A4 00:25:23
  26. Adam Dunne DB Cycling Club Junior 00:25:47
  27. Katrina Pollack Moy Square A4 00:25:54
  28. Joe Kelly Naas CC A3 00:26:26
  29. Emily Ann Doyle Naas CC A4 00:26:52
  30. Andrew Ward DB Cycling Club LC 00:27:07
  31. Gary Donnelly Smugglers CC LC 00:27:09
  32. Jac Joel Breffni Wheelers Lc 00:27:11
  33. Shane Murphy Fintona CC LC 00:27:20
  34. Gary O’Donnel Smugglers CC LC 00:27:22
  35. John Ormiston DB Cycling Club LC 00:27:39
  36. Aoibheann Bartley Breffni Wheelers LC 00:27:57
  37. Oisin McBreen DB Cycling Club A4 00:28:01
  38. Darren Lynch Breffni Wheelers LC 00:28:02
  39. Niall Ward DB Cycling Club Junior 00:28:16
  40. Daniel Denninger Blanch Wheelies A4 00:28:28
  41. Martin O Reilly Breffni Wheelers LC 00:29:17
  42. Cathal Rafferty Smugglers CC Junior 00:30:09
  43. Ivor Fannin DB Cycling Club LC 00:30:13
  44. Sheena O Neil Island Wheelers LC 00:30:57
  45. Kevin Smith Sheelin Flyers LC 00:32:06
  46. Eugene Kiernan Sheelin Flyers LC 00:32:29