Des Woods (50) scalps top A1 riders for Robinstown victory

Posted on: July 17th, 2017

Des Woods (50) takes Robinstown victory

Des Woods took off on his own and took a fantastic win in Robinstown, Co Meath (Photo: Sean Rowe)


Des Woods (50) takes Robinstown victory


A fantastic competitor since he took up racing, Des Woods has secured his first victory in an open race featuring A1 riders.

Now aged 50 years, Woods took off solo at the end of the Tommie Brady Memorial in Robinstown, Co Meath, on Saturday evening.

And once he got a gap on the breakaway he sprang from, there was not getting him back.

Some of the riders who came in just behind the Newry Wheelers man are among the best A1s in the country; a fact that really underlines the quality of the victory.

Shane Smith (Moynalty) attacked the breakaway in pursuit of the eventual winner in the closing stages.

And though Smith was gaining on the lone leader, Woods had the staying power to finish the job.

Just behind the winner and runner-up, Cycling Ireland’s top ranked A1 Matteo Cigala (Aqua Blue Academy) sprinted in for 3rd place.

He edged out another of the men of the season to date, Dermot Trulock. The Lucan CRC was forced to settle for 4th place having taken a number of wins already this year.

The race, run by Navan Road Club, was handicapped, with the A4s going off first, followed by the A3s and then A1-A2 riders.

Cigala and Trulock broke clear of the scratch group on the second of eight laps and caught the groups ahead, before pressing clear again.

Will and Archie Ryan – 15-year-old twins from O’Leary Stone Kanturk – jumped in with them to make an escape of four up front.

It came together behind them around the halfway point in the 40 mile contest.

Woods would get across to the four leaders in a 12-man chase group on the penultimate lap.

The final two laps were characterised by lots of attacks, with Woods trying his hand a number of times.

However, with about 4 miles remaining he put in a hard dig and got a gap which he would hold all the way.

We’ll catch up with Woods shortly for an interview.



Sat, July 15: Tommie Bray Memorial

Robinstown, Co Meath

Promoted by Navan Road Club

1 Des Woods (Newry Wheelers)

2 Shane Smith (Moynalty CC)

3 Matteo Cigala (Aqua Blue Academy)

4 Javan Nulty (North Down CC)

5 Dermot Trulock (Lucan CRC)

6 Reece Young (Bikeworx Celbridge)

Unplaced A2s

1 Ciaran Hanley (Swords CC)

2 Kevin Lynch (Newry Wheelers)

Unplaced A3s

1 Will Ryan (O’Leary Stone Kanturk)

2 Archie Ryan (O’Leary Stone Kanturk)

Unplaced A4s

1 Timothy Duffy (Unattached)

2 Sean Lynch (Navan Road Club)