Junior Niamh McKiverigan & David Montgomery win in Ulster

Posted on: November 20th, 2017

Niamh McKiverigan David Montgomery cyclocross

Junior rider Niamh McKiverigan and David Montgomery were both in winning form at the Ulster Cyclocross Series. They claimed the elite men’s and women’s races at Ormeau Park, Belfast (Photo by David McVeigh – The Belgian Project)


Niamh McKiverigan and David Montgomery take cyclocross wins


The up and coming Irish junior rider Niamh McKiverigan has scored a strong solo victory in the Ulster Cyclocross Series.

Teenager McKiverigan, who rides for Powerhouse Sport, was a clear victory in the women’s A race in Ormeau Park.

And though he race in Belfast was the elite event, she took the win by almost one minute.

She took the chequered flag, two arms aloft in triumph, some  58 seconds clear. In the runner up slot came Diane Wilson (Dromara CC).

Rounding out the podium was Julie Rea (Phoenix CC), a further 33 seconds back.

The eventual winner signalled her intent early, blasting out of the traps to quickly gain a strong lead. She covered the opening lap of give in 7:24, a full 27 seconds faster than Rea and 37 seconds to good of Wilson.

And having done the damage so early, McKiverigan kept tapping out her rhythm. She would put more modest time into her closest rivals for the remainder of the race.

But she still built that lead on event lap apart from the final one. Knowing she had the race run she backed off a little to enjoy her moment at the end.

In the men’s race, winner David Montgomery (Unattached) ceded some ground in the early exchanges.

And it was Graham Boyd (McConvey Cycles) and his team mate Thomas Creighton who got the best starts.

It as Boyd who maintained his furious early pace for the next three laps, of eight.

By the time the race had reached its halfway point he was more than 20 seconds of dangerman Montgomery.

But on the fifth lap Montgomery began to eat into the gap, claiming nine seconds back. And on the next circuit he took another 17 to go into the lead.

He’d race around the final two circuits only marginally faster than Boyd. As a result the winning gap after 48 minutes of racing was just nine seconds.

And behind them it was Lewis Ferguson of The Bike House CC who came through for 3rd, some 1:07 down on Montgomery.


Niamh McKiverigan David Montgomery cyclocross

Up and coming junior cyclist Niamh McKiverigan of Powerhouse Sport takes a great win (Photo: DavidMcVeigh – BelgianProject)


Men’s Cyclcocross A Race

1 David Montgomery Unattached 00:48:07
2 Graham Boyd McConvey Cycles 00:48:16
3 Lewis Ferguson The Bike House CC 00:49:14
4 Thomas Creighton McConvey Cycles 00:49:26
5 Barry Kellett Dromara Cycling Club 00:50:17
6 Christian Nachtigall Phoenix CC 00:50:58
7 Jason Henry Unattached 00:51:30
8 Conor Campbell Newry Wheelers CC 00:51:51
9 Brendan Doherty VC Glendale 00:52:07
10 Ross Collins McNally Swords CC 00:52:08


Women’s Cyclocross Race

1 Niamh McKiverigan (J) Powerhouse Sport 00:38:51
2 Diane Wilson Dromara Cycling Club 00:39:49
3 Julie Rea Phoenix CC 00:40:22
4 Rachel Irvine The Bike House CC 00:41:12
5 Martina Hawkins Shimna Wheelers Cycling Club 00:42:47
6 Ruth Aiken Banbridge CC 00:42:47
7 Roisin Skeffington Square Wheels 00:44:43
8 Summer McGibbon (J) Unattached 00:45:56
9 Rachel McBride (J) Omagh Wheelers Cycling Club -1 lap
10 Emma Elder (J) Carn Wheelers -1 lap


Cyclocross B Race

1 Chris Cameron Kinning Cycles 00:43:28
2 Paul Ferguson The Bike House CC 00:43:44
3 Michael McMullan Unattached 00:43:54
4 Paul Hamilton Plush MTB 00:43:54
5 Marek Pluciniczak Portadown Cycling Club 00:44:21
6 Richard Gaffikin Killinchy Cycling Club 00:44:27
7 Ryan Rainey Keevan CC 00:44:43
8 Sean Maguire VC Glendale 00:45:31
9 Neil McCartan Powerhouse Sport 00:45:32
10 Matthew Sinton Portadown Cycling Club 00:45:34