Montgomery piles on the pressure to win at Palace Demesne

Posted on: October 15th, 2017

David Montgomery wins Palace Demesne cyclocross

David Montgomery has looked in great form to date in the cyclocross campaign. And he really put on a convincing show to take another victory at Palace Demesne (Photo: David McVeigh – The Belgian Project)


David Montgomery wins Palace Demesne cyclocross


Beaten two weeks ago when he slipped up on the final lap, David Montgomery has now collected two wins since then.

He was victorious in the McConvey Cross Cup in Belfast last weekend. And he rode to another win yesterday.

This time he had too much for the opposition in the Square Wheels promotion at Palace Demesne, Armagh.

The third round of the Ulster Cyclocross Series; Montgomery set out his stall early and never took the boot off the opposition’s neck.

He recorded by far the fastest opening lap, scorching around the course in 7:49. That was a full 12 second quicker than eventual runner-up Graham Boyd (McConvey Cycles).

And matching Boyd on that opening circuit of six was the man who beat Montgomery two weeks back, Barry Kellett of Dromara CC.

Any hope Montgomery may have gone out too fast was scotched when he motored again on the second loop.

His 8:06 was 13 seconds faster than Boyd and 14 quicker than Kellett.

Those three slipped into the podium positions very early in the fight. And there was to be no change in the final four laps.

Montgomery’s pace steadied on the final three laps, but he was still quickest of the field on two of those.

And in the end the former An Post-Chainreaction road rider and ex national elite champion won the day by 40 seconds from Boyd.

In 3rd place, Kellett would finish 15 seconds further back.

The women’s race went to former national champion Fran Meehan. The Arcane rider won by 1:06 from up and coming junior Niamh McKiverigan of Powerhouse Sport.

Gill Smith of Phoenix CC was 3rd, some 26 seconds behind the teenage McKiverigan.

For full results of all the races yesterday please follow this link. For the top 10s of the main events see below.


A Race Top 10

1 David Montgomery Unattached 00:49:55
2 Graham Boyd McConvey Cycles 00:50:35
3 Barry Kellett Dromara Cycling Club 00:52:30
4 Ross Collins McNally Swords CC 00:52:45
5 Derek Finnegan Keevan CC 00:52:46
6 Christian Nachtigall Phoenix CC 00:53:36
7 Thomas Creighton McConvey Cycles 00:53:57
8 Brendan Doherty VC Glendale 00:54:11
9 Jason Henry Unattached 00:54:27
10 Des Woods Newry Wheelers CC 00:54:39


Women’s Race Top 10

1 Fran Meehan Arcane Cycling Team 00:43:07
2 Niamh McKiverigan (J) Powerhouse Sport 00:44:13
3 Gill Smith Phoenix CC 00:44:36
4 Martina Hawkins Shimna Wheelers Cycling Club 00:46:14
5 Janice Hepburn Island Wheelers 00:47:36
6 Ruth Aiken Banbridge CC 00:49:49
7 Emma Sharkey Phoenix CC 00:49:52
8 Summer McGibbon (J) Unattached 00:52:26
9 Ellie McArdle Square Wheels 00:53:32
10 Fancea McNally Square Wheels 00:54:39


B Race Top 10

1 Jack Ferguson Dromara Cycling Club
2 Jonathan Graham Velo Club Mourne
3 Daniel Daly Phoenix CC
4 Dean Lockhart Carn Wheelers
5 Seamus McAuley Velo Cafe Magasin
6 Neil Armstrong Dromara Cycling Club
7 Chris Cameron Kinning Cycles
8 Colm Watson VC Glendale
9 Barry Kirkland Island Wheelers
10 Lee Somerville Lakeland


Men’s MTB Race Top 10

1 Scott Maitland Killinchy Cycling Club 00:49:55
2 John Scott Island Wheelers 00:50:13
3 Gavin Thompson Maryland -1 lap
4 Denver Irvine unattached -1 lap
5 Brian McAlinden Apollo Cycling Team -1 lap
6 Michael Foley Dromara Cycling Club -1 lap
7 Jeff Doyle Trail Demons CC -1 lap
8 Kieran Boyle Carn Wheelers -1 lap
9 David Richardson Trail Demons CC -1 lap
10 Gavin Hanna Apollo Cycling Team -1 lap


Women’s MTB Podium

1 Alison McMullan Unattached 00:49:47
2 Lisa Millar Dromara Cycling Club 00:52:35
3 Karen Wynne Foyle CC -1 lap