Results Castlebar GP: Tough racing on Nephin Mountain, Co Mayo

Posted on: April 14th, 2019

Sean O’Malley leads the breakaway on a day when quality riders attacked off the front and carved up the spoils in Co Mayo (Photos by Damien Conway – Castlebar CC)

David Brody has taken victory on home roads in the Castlebar GP, arriving at the finish in Co Mayo with team mate Charlie Prendergast for company.

They claimed a Castlebar Cycling Club 1-2 just ahead of a group of four after the field had split to pieces.

Breezy conditions and a lumpy course that took in two ascents of Nephin Mountain meant there was no place to hide.

The main event was run off in a handicapped format, with a five-minute gap between the scratch and limit groups.

With about 20km still to race what remained of the groups came together and from there an aggressive contest was played out.


Eventual winner David Brophy puts the hammer down on the front on his way to victory.


Prendergast has already won three races this year and been on the podium at total of seven times.

And when he got together with team mate Brody, another man well able to move, they gained a gap that secured the spoils.

The chasing group behind them was lead home by Richard Meaney of Westport Covey Wheelers.

Stephen Murphy of Black Rose and Mark Quigley of Strata 3-VeloRevolution were next; in 4th and 5th positions.

And rounding out the top six on the day was Sean O’Malley of Western Lakes Cycling Club.


Sun, April 14: Castlebar GP (125km)

Promoted by Castlebar Cycling Club

Castlebar, Co Mayo

A1-A2-A3 Race

  1. David Brody Castlebar CC
  2. Charlie Prendergast Castlebar CC
  3. Richard Meaney Westport Covey Wheelers
  4. Stephen Murphy Black Rose Racing
  5. Mark Quigley Strata 3-VeloRevolution
  6. Sean O’Malley Western Lakes CC
  7. Jarlath Hassett Burren Cycling Club
  8. Ciarán Murphy Gerry McVeigh Cars
  9. David Walshe Castlebar CC
  10. Declan Shevlin Gerry McVeigh Cars


A4 Race

Results awaited