Creighton wins Connacht title from teenagers Finnerty, Maloney

Posted on: December 9th, 2018

Damien Creighton finishes solo to claim victory on the Connacht Cyclocross Championships (Photos: Ballina CC)


Sun Dec 9: Connacht Cyclocross Championships

Enniscrone, Co Sligo

Promoted by Ballina Cycling Club

  1. Damien Creighton (Ballina Cycling Club)
  2. Aaron Finnerty (Ballina Cycling Club) U16
  3. Declan Maloney (The Sports Room Racing) Jnr
  4. Anthony Murray (Covey Wheelers Westport)
  5. Mark Quigley (Strata3-VeloRevolution)
  6. Andrew Higgins (Ballina Cycling Club)

Senior Podium

  1. Damien Creighton (Ballina Cycling Club)
  2. Anthony Murray (Covey Wheelers Westport)
  3. Mark Quigley (Strata3-VeloRevolution)

Masters 40 Podium

  1. Pádraic Quinn (TG4 TríSpórt)
  2. Rónán Mac Con Iomaire (TG4 TríSpórt)
  3. Donal Mulkeen (Ballina Cycling Club)

Masters 50 Champion

  1. Michael Hopkins (Ballina Cycling Club)

Women’s Champion

  1. Sinéad Waters (Western Lakes Cycling Club)

Junior Champion

  1. Declan Moloney (The Sports Room Racing)

U16 Champion

  1. Aaron Finnerty (Ballina Cycling Club)

Finnerty and Maloney were very close all race, only separated in a tight sprint on the finish line.