Graham Boyd and Niamh Stephens triumph in close-run races

Posted on: December 3rd, 2018

Navan Road Club’s races in Blackwater Park saw very close-up competition, with Graham Boyd (above) and Niamh Stephens winning the main events (All photos by Sean Rowe)


The cyclocross racing in Navan attracted some quality riders yesterday, with the top of the men’s race results packed with those who have won major accolades in recent years.

One of the form riders of the season to date, Graham Boyd, took another win after a close contest.

The McConvey Cycles man was runner-up at the UCI-ranked Belfast International earlier in the year.

And he has followed that up of late with a number of victories, the latest of which coming yesterday at Blackwater Park.


Stephens, Seymour, Bula.


Boyd endured in what was a very close fight with Olympian and multiple MTB and cyclocross Irish champion Robin Seymour.

There was little to separate Team Worc’s Seymour and the eventual winner during the 50 minutes of racing.

But in the end Boyd took it; his winning margin on the line just eight seconds.

Rounding out the top podium with was another very talented rider, David Montgomery.

He won a terrific national title race a few years ago and then went on to spend a season with An Post-Chainreaction.

Just off the podium in Navan was Paul O’Reilly. Another top cyclocross rider, the UCD man came home within 30 seconds of Montgomery.

In the women’s race, Niamh Stephens of TC Racing turned her recent run of very good form into a victory in the Navan Road Club promotion.

She has been consistently on the podium this season and won yesterday by 35 seconds from Asia Bula of Scott-EuroCycles. Rounding out the podium was Stephanie Roche of Scott-Orwell Wheelers.


Montgomery and Roche.


Sun, Dec 2: Navan Cyclocross in the Park

Blackwater Park, Co Meath

Promoted by Navan Road Club

Men’s A Race

  1. Graham BOYD McConvey Cycles MO 52:25
  2. Robin SEYMOUR Team WORC M45 52:33
  3. David MONTGOMERY MO 52:58
  4. Paul O’REILLY UCD MO 53:27
  5. Niall SOMERS Team WORC MO 54:45
  6. Gavin O’CONNELL Team WORC MO 55:00
  7. Sean Nolan Navan Road Club MJ 55:39
  8. Cian MAY Lucan Cycling Road Club MJ 56:43
  9. Evan RYAN Team WORC M35 57:07
  10. Paul CALDWELL Epic MTB – Expert Cycles MO 57:10
  11. Glenn KINNING Kinning Cycles MO 57:11
  12. Eoin AHERN Scott Orwell Wheelers MO 57:38
  13. Drew MC KINLEY Newry Wheelers M40 57:55
  14. Ciaran Dixon McConvey Cycles MJ 58:07
  15. John DORIS Epic MTB M50 58:08
  16. Brian MELIA Team WORC M35 58:09
  17. Philip ROCHE Team WORC MO 58:54
  18. Mick JORDAN Tallaght Wheelers M50 59:00
  19. Paul MCCARTER Donegal Bay CC M40 59:54
  20. Dominick HEGARTY M50 1:00:13
  21. Jonnie BOYLE Team Cavan Racing M35 1:05:37


Women’s Race

  1. Niamh STEPHENS TC Racing FO 42:02
  2. Joanna BULA Scott Eurocycles F40 42:37
  3. Stephanie ROCHE Scott Orwell Wheelers FJ 44:59
  4. Monica MARCONI Scott Orwell Wheelers F50 47:32