Teenagers Creighton and McKiverigan shine brightest in Belfast

Posted on: November 11th, 2018

Continuing  fantastic campaign so far, Thomas Creighton has taken another cyclocross win; this time in Belfast (Photo: Toby Watson)


After showing very strong form already this season, in his first weeks out of the juniors, Thomas Creighton has continued what is rapidly becoming a breakthrough season.

While today’s Ulster Cyclocross Series victory was not his first win of the 2018-2019 campaign, it was his best.

And the foundations of a really impressive ride were laid early; Creighton taking off like a rocket to dominate the men’s race.

The first-year U23 rider had almost one minute on hand on McConvey Cycles team mate and runner-up Graham Boyd at the finish.

Rounding out the podium was Glenn Kinning (Kinning Cycles) a further 21 seconds back. And in fourth was national champion Darnell Moore.

The Caldwell Cycles man placed 5th today, with the first junior home, Lee Harvey, next. That was a very solid ride from the emerging Harvey (Kinning Cycles).

On a wet day for racing in Ormeau Park in Belfast, Thomas Creighton stormed around the opening lap of seven at break-neck speed.

He got out of the traps so quickly that he was already 25 seconds up on Boyd and 31 to the good on Kinning after the first lap.

Behind Creighton, it was Masters 40 rider Christian Nachtigall who got the next best start; the Phoenix CC man keeping his time lost to Creighton to 22 seconds on that opening lap.

But that was the closest anyone would get to last season’s junior cyclocross champion. And in a demonstration of how much stronger he is getting, Creighton’s fast start didn’t take the edge of his power for the rest of the contest.

He was fastest of the field on every lap thereafter; getting into an early lead and building it all the way.


Niamh McKiverigan took a tidy victory on the women’s race; a junior rider very much on the up (Photo: Sean Rowe)


As well as Creighton winning and teenager Harvey proving best of the juniors, and getting himself into the mix with the best elites, Nachtigall was best M40 rider. He faded after his fast start but was still 7th over the line.

Brendan Doherty (VC Glendale) was best of the M50-M60 riders; finishing just one place behind Nachtigall.

On a day when the young guns did so well in the men’s race, the women’s event saw a similar scenario unfold. However, that race came down to a battle of just seconds at the finish.

Niamh McKiverigan (Powerhouse Sport) won out from Darcey Harkness (Carn Wheelers); a 1-2 by the junior riders.

And claiming the last spot on the podium was Asia Bula; the Scott-Eurocycles rider who has been in winning for of late.

At the finish McKiverigan had just three seconds to spare on Harkness, with Bula almost three minutes back in 3rd place.


Took an early lead

The leading two rode away from the rest of the field on the opening lap; the eventual winner just getting the upper hand in the early exchanges.

However, they were still locked into a tight battle when on the penultimate lap McKiverigan pulled clear.

Harkness would fight back and close about 10 seconds on the final lap but had to settle for the runner-up spot.

In the men’s B race, William Boyd of promoting club XMTB took victory from Martin Harney (Phoenix CC) and Mark Gordon (Newry Wheelers CC).


Sun, Nov 11: Round 8, Ulster Cyclocross Series

Promoted by XMTB

Ormeau Park, Belfast

Men’s A Race

  1. Thomas CREIGHTON McConvey Cycles 53:26
  2. Graham BOYD McConvey Cycles 54:24
  3. Glenn KINNING Kinning Cycles 54:45
  4. Darnell MOORE Caldwell Cycles Omagh 55:47
  5. Lee HARVEY Unattached 56:42
  6. Lewis FERGUSON The Bike House CC 56:49
  7. Christian NACHTIGALL Phoenix CC 56:57
  8. Brendan DOHERTY VC Glendale 58:10
  9. Aaron PARKS Banbridge CC 58:36
  10. Johnny TAYLOR Carn Wheelers 58:50
  11. JJ CONWAY Harps CC 58:53
  12. Kevin MCKINNEY Armagh City Cyclists 58:53
  13. Barry CONVERY Newry Wheelers CC 59:16
  14. Darragh MCCARTER Donegal Bay Cycling Club 59:31
  15. Peter MCCONVILLE Newry Wheelers CC 59:32
  16. James MCCOURT Island Wheelers 59:56
  17. Ciaran DIXON McConvey Cycles 1:00:13
  18. Pearse O’HAGAN Inspired Cycling 1:00:14
  19. Jason HENRY Inspired Cycling 1:00:27
  20. Neil ARMSTRONG Dromara Cycling Club 1:00:39
  21. Sean FEATHERSTONE Newry Wheelers CC 1:01:37
  22. Paul-Antoine HAGAN Team Vision Racing 1:01:52
  23. Don TRAVERS Banbridge CC 1:01:56
  24. Oleksii KOLBASKO XMTB 1:02:07
  25. Sean SCULLION Island Wheelers 1:06:41


Women’s Race

  1. Niamh MCKIVERIGAN Powerhouse Sport 44:08
  2. Darcey HARKNESS Carn Wheelers 44:11
  3. Joanna BULA Scott Eurocycles.com 47:06
  4. Gill SMITH Unattached 47:11
  5. Rachel IRVINE The Bike House CC 47:45
  6. Diane WILSON Dromara Cycling Club 48:04
  7. Helen WHITE Stamullen RC 50:21
  8. Roisin SKEFFINGTON Square Wheels 51:13
  9. Martina HAWKINS Dromara Cycling Club 51:15
  10. Ruth MCKEE Banbridge CC 52:02
  11. Angie SMYTH Apollo Cycling Team 52:25
  12. Emma CONVEY Scott Orwell Wheelers Cycling Club 53:58
  13. Andra HAMILTON Dromara Cycling Club -1 lap
  14. Alison MCMULLAN Unattached -1 lap
  15. Kathryn AIKEN Unattached -1 lap
  16. Ellie MCARDLE Square Wheels -1 lap
  17. Rachel MCBRIDE Omagh Wheelers Cycling Club -1 lap
  18. Fancea MCNALLY Square Wheels -1 lap