Conor Kissane in class of his own at Munster Hill Climb Champs

Posted on: September 17th, 2018

Conor Kissane Munster Hill Climb Championships

You know it’s hill climb time when you see the grass in the middle of the road. Above, Conor Kissane flies up the Lacka to take victory (All photos by John Coleman)


Conor Kissane wins Munster Hill Climb Champs


Having ridden very impressively this season and also in hill climbs at the end of 2017, Conor Kissane has won the Munster Hill Climb Championships.

The Killarney CC man was best yesterday in the Southside Wheely Wheelers promotion in Co Limerick.

On the 1.2km climb of ‘The Lacka’, averaging just under 11 per cent and with a peak incline of 15 per cent, Kissane was well ahead of his rivals.

Conor Kissane had won on the same climb last year, when he well breached the four minute marker in stopping the clock at 3:44.

But 12 months on, and having enjoyed his strongest road race season in the peloton, Kissane went even quicker. He completed the climb at Ballyrogan in a time of 3:38.


Conor Kissane Munster Hill Climb Championships

Conor Kissane Munster Hill Climb Championships

Aherne on his way to the M40 title. O’Donovan starts the effort that brought her the women’s title.


Kissane’s time was 32 seconds faster than the best of the rest. Both Daniel Yon Hin of Kanturk CC and John Aherne of De Ronde Van Cork both did 4:10.

Yon Hin took the A3 title for his efforts and Aherne took the Masters 40 title with his time.

Niamh O’Donovan of TC Racing won the women’s Munster hill climb title, in a time of 5:25.

Eoin Allen of Club Rothaíochta na Sionainne was best A2 on the day, in a time of 4:40.

Jimmy Condon, in the aptly named Over The Hill CC, was best of the A4 riders in a time of 4:39.

In the Masters 50 race, Jeff Punch of Limerick CC was best; in 4:36. And in the Masters 60 event Malcolm Keating of Limerick CC won in 6:27.


Conor Kissane Munster Hill Climb Championships