Conor Hennebry wins Donamon Dynamos GP from breakaway

Posted on: June 11th, 2018

Conor Hennebry wins Donamon Dynamos GP

Having already won Kerry Group Rás Mumhan this year, Conor Hennebry  has taken his tally of victories in 2018 to five by claiming the Donamon Dynamos GP.


Conor Hennebry wins Donamon Dynamos GP


Conor Hennebry has continued his very strong season with victory in the Donamon Dynamos GP in Co Roscommon.

The Viner-Caremark-Pactimo man broke clear and rode away on the second lap of seven in a nine-man breakaway.

Crucially he had team mate Sean Hahessy for company; both big talents on their own and a real handful combined.

Anyone who missed the boat would be left scrapping for the minor placings. The nine men up front all stayed clear, with nobody else in the race seeing them again until the finish.

And when the breakaway fractured on the final lap, it was Hennebry who proved best.

He won on his own just a few seasons ahead of Mark Shannon (Burren CC) with Hahessy in 3rd place.

There was action from the gun with Matteo Cigala of Viner Caremark Pactimo going clear with David Brody of Castlebar CC.

However, that was stamped out quickly and after several more attacks the breakaway would go clear on the second lap of seven.

It contained nine riders including eventual winner and third placed riders Hennebry and Hahessy along with Charles Prendergast (Castlebar CC).

Also present was Aaron Kearney (NRPT-Chill Insurance), eventual runner up Shannon and Richard Meaney (Westport Wheelers).

Completing the line-up were Sean O’Malley (Western Lakes CC), Ciaran Handley (McNally Swords CC) and Shane Scully (Nenagh CC).

While a number of riders, including Cigala and Conn McDunphy (Holdsworth Pro Cycling), were trying to get out of the bunch they failed to do so on that second lap.

And the gap to the leading nine would soon shoot out to one minute. A chase group would eventually go clear, with Cigala and McDunphy present.

However, it remained over one minute back for the duration of the race. And though McDunphy would attack the group in pursuit of the leaders, the racing was also going forward at the front.

With two very strong riders in Hennebry and Hahessy in the break, the Viner Caremark Pactimo team was in the driving seat.

Hennebry led the group solo as they entered the final lap, with 16km to go.

At the finish the Rás Mumhan winner took his fifth victory of the season, he came home just ahead of a group of three.

It was brought home by Shannon; from Hahessy and Meaney. Best of the rest was Doherty, the junior rider putting in a great ride for 5th place.

It was a day when all of the breakaway would survive to fill the top nine places.

After Doherty came Handley, O’Malley, Prendergast and Scully. Sean Moore Gerard-DHL was best of those who missed the boat; coming in to round out the top 10.


Sun, June 10: Donamon GP

Castlecoote, Co Roscommon

Promoted by Donamon Dynamos

  1. Conor Hennebry Viner Caremark Pactimo
  2. Mark Shannon Burren Cycling Club
  3. Seán Hahessy Viner Caremark Pactimo
  4. Richard Meaney Westport Covey Wheelers Cycling Club
  5. Aaron Doherty NRPT-Chill Insurance
  6. Ciaran Handley McNally Swords CC
  7. Seán O’Malley Western Lakes CC
  8. Charles Prendergast Castlebar Cycling Club
  9. Shane Scully Nenagh Cycling Club
  10. Sean Moore Gerard-DHL
  11. Matteo Cigala Viner Caremark Pactimo
  12. Jamie Blanchfield Panduit Carrick Wheelers
  13. Aaron Kearney Team Viner Caremark Pactimo
  14. Cian Sutcliffe Gerard-DHL
  15. Conor Gallagher NRPT-Chill Insurance
  16. Darragh McCarter Donegal Bay Cycling Club
  17. Conn McDunphy Holdsworth Bikes
  18. David Brennan Castlebar Cycling Club
  19. Matthew McCullagh Sundrive Track Team
  20. Alex N Ekiz Ballina Cycling Club