Conor Hennebry doubles up in Carlow for 12th win of season

Posted on: September 16th, 2018

Continuing a fantastic season, Conor Hennebry has scored another victory; this time in Carlow (All photos with many thanks – as usual – to Sean Rowe)


Conor Hennebry has taken his second win of the weekend in Carlow, taking victory today in Rás Ceatharlach.

The Viner-Caremark-Pactimo man had won the Red Hand Trophy yesterday; besting Adam Ward (Powerhouse Sport) in a two-up sprint.

But today at the end of 120km in the main event in Carlow, he was out on his own. Hennebry has now won 12 races this season, including two stage races.

Today he was victorious from Paul Kennedy; the Newcastle West CC forced to settle for runner-up spot for the second time this weekend.

He was also 2nd to Conn McDunphy (Holdsworth Pro Racing) at the Lucan GP yesterday.

Today in Carlow Luke Smith took the final place on the podium; making it a 1-3 for Viner-Caremark Pactimo.

Then came Dermot Trulock of Lucan CRC, Sean Moore of Gerard-DHL and junior rider Liam Curley of NRPT-Chill Insurance.


Top down: Ronan McDonnell of Dublin Wheelers looks back to assess the damage after attacking. Trulock leads the escape from Hennebry, Kennedy and Smith. Kennedy takes 2nd place with Smith and Trulock in the distance.


A very strong breakaway of four riders got clear after about 5km on the first of four laps in the 120km race.

Hennebry was in the group along with team mate Smith, Kennedy and Trulock. They combined well to stay clear and began attacking each other on the last lap.

Hennebry made his move with about 8km remaining and managed to pull clear to win.

His win today adds to a fantastic year that included overall wins in Kerry Group Rás Mumhan and the Bogman Two Day. He also took a stage win in each of those races.

He has won Rás Naomh Finian, the John Drumm Cup, Donamon GP, Meath GP, Collins Christle and Rás Cill Mocheallog, as well as his two wins this weekend.

In the A3 race Shane Foley, riding Unattached this year, was best after 96km. He saw off Adrian Pretorious (Blanch Wheelies) and John Priest (Lucan CRC).


Sun, Sept 16th: Rás Ceatharlach

Promoted by Carlow Road Cycling Club

A1-A2 Race (120km)

  1. Conor Hennebry Viner-Caremark-Pactimo
  2. Paul Kennedy Newcastle West CC
  3. Luke Smith Viner-Caremark-Pactimo
  4. Dermot Trulock Lucan CRC
  5. Sean Moore Gerard Cycles-DHL
  6. Liam Curley NRPT-Chill Insurance
  7. Andrew Maguire Gerard Cycles-DHL
  8. Cian Keogh Sports Room Racing
  9. Simon Jones
  10. Ronan Killeen Lucan CRC

Unplaced A2

  1. William Goodwin Laois CC
  2. Rob Farrell Lucan CRC


A3 Race (96km)

  1. Shane Foley Unattached
  2. Adrian Pretorious Blanch Wheelies
  3. John Priest Lucan CRC
  4. Mark Kiernan Murphy Surveys Kilcullen
  5. Alan Benson Limerick CC
  6. Dylan Joseph Bray Wheelers
  7. Enda Walsh Waterford Racing
  8. Eoin Ferriter Drogheda Wheelers
  9. Colm Bracken Murphy Surveys Kilcullen

Unplaced Junior

  1. David O’Sullivan Sports Room Racing


A4 Race (72km)

  1. Brian Mahon Slaney CC
  2. Liam McCormack Collins Cycle Centre
  3. Pat Willett McNally Swords
  4. Paul Barry Rossbury Racing
  5. Robert Stack Team 905
  6. Val Murray Team 905
  7. Sean McCarthy Acme CC
  8. Emmet Egan Gorey CC