Conor Hennebry strikes late for big win at Des Hanlon Classic

Posted on: March 31st, 2019
Conor Hennebry has taken his third and biggest win of the year, landing top spot at the Des Hanlon Classic in Co Carlow. His team packed the breakaway and then made their superiority count when it mattered most (Photo: Sean Rowe)

Already a winner several times since the season began, Conor Hennebry has landed a big prize at the Des Hanlon Memorial in Co Carlow this afternoon.

Always one of the hardest races of the seaon, and one of the most coveted victories on the home scene, Hennebry reached the chequered flag on his own.

The Dan Morrissey-MIG-Pactimo was in a breakaway which looked set to stay intact for a sprint to the line.

However, Hennebry’s team mate Sean Hahessy had attacked the group and gained about 15 seconds in the latter stages of the race.

When his bid for victory was not successful a sprint looked on the cards until Hennebry let rip with what would prove to be the winning move.

The winner’s team mate James Curry took the sprint for 2nd behind, leading in the first half of the breakaway after the escape split coming towards the finish.

Darnell Moore of Caldwell Cycles Omagh also made the breakaway and he rounded out the podium.

A fourth team mate of the winner’s, Ronan McLaughlin, was also in the move and he took 5th today.

Others in the escape group included Mark Dowling (Unattached Leinster) and Marc Potts (Unattached Ulster).

A delighted Hennebry adds today’s triumph to victories already this year in Rás Luimni and the North Tipperary Open Races just last weekend.


A1-A2 Men’s Race

  1. Conor Hennebry Dan Morrissey-MIG-Pactimo
  2. James Curry Dan Morrissey-MIG-Pactimo
  3. Darnel Moore Caldwell Cycles Omagh
  4. Conor McCann BioRacer-DHL-FR Services
  5. Ronan McLaughlin Dan Morrissey-MIG-Pactimo
  6. Sean Hahessy Dan Morrissey-MIG-Pactimo
  7. Mark Dowling Unattached
  8. Marc Potts Unattached
  9. Ronan Killeen Lucan CRC
  10. John Brosnan Killarney Cycling Club
  11. Paul Kennedy Newcastle West CC
  12. Fintan Ryan Kingspan Track Project
  13. Donal Shearer Phoenix CC
  14. Damien Shaw Strata 3-VeloRevolution
  15. Tom Shanahan Limerick Cycling Club
  16. Tiit Talumaa St Tiernan’s Cycling Club
  17. John Buller Dan Morrissey-MIG-Pactimo
  18. Richie Maes Strata 3-Velorevolution
  19. Conor Murnane UCD Cycling Club
  20. Ryan Reilly Dan Morrissey-MIG-Pactimo