Conor Hennebry takes strong solo victory at Collins Christle

Posted on: August 12th, 2018

Conor Hennebry wins Collin Christle

Conor Hennebry takes his latest victory of the 2018 season, this time at the Collins Christle Memorial promoted by Navan Road Club (Photo: Sean Rowe).


Conor Hennebry wins Collin Christle in Co Meath


Rás Mumhan champion Conor Hennebry has added to his victory tally for 2018 by taking a solo win at the Collins Christle on Sunday.

The Viner-Caremark-Pactimo man was out front at the end of the Navan Road Club-promoted main event in Kilmessan.

He came in solo just ahead of his team Sean Hahessy who was with another form man of the season James Davenport (Strata 3-VeloRevolution).

Conor Hennebry had ridden well 24 hours earlier in a quality field at the John Beggs Memorial. However, he missed the winning escape and was forced to settle for 8th; Dermot Trulock (Lucan CRC) winning.


Conor Hennebry wins Collin Christle

Conor Hennebry wins Collin Christle

Conor Hennebry wins Collin Christle

Top down: The large breakaway, Mark Dowling tries to get clear of the bunch, Trulock wins the sprint from the remains of the breakaway.


The effort of a big event the previous day clearly took very little out of Hennebry for Sunday’s contest in Meath.

On the opening lap of six of the 13.4km circuit, Hennebry went up the road in a group of three; with Ronan Killeen (Lucan CRC) and one of the Panduit Carrick Wheelers riders.

Hennebry soon jumped clear of them and remained out front alone for the remainder of the first lap and the second.

He was then caught by a group of about five, which included Cian May and Dermot Trulock of Lucan CRC, Anthony Doyle (Strata 3-VeloRevolution) and others.

However, they were soon caught by the bunch only for another small group to ride clear. In that move were some dangermen; Trulock again, with Paul Kennedy (Newcastle West CC), among others.


Lenny McManus of Drogheda Wheelers wins the A4 race in a bunch sprint from Jonathan Coffey (Scott Orwell) and John Halford (Gorey CC).


A chase group, which included Hennebry, set off in pursuit and caught the leaders. That created a large breakaway which continued to work to stay clear.

In that group with Hennebry was Hahessy, Tim O’Regan (Killarney CC), Kennedy and Davenport.

Also present was Andy Maguire (Gerard-DHL) along with Trulock, Cian Keogh (Sports Room Racing) and NRPT-Chill Insurance’s Sean Kennedy and Liam Curley.

They worked well until the final lap when Hahessy attacked and Hennebry and Davenport went with him.

They pulled clear of the rest of the escape and while Kennedy jumped after them, the leading trio were gone.

Hennebry attacked up front with about 3km remaining; Hahessy marking the out-numbered Davenport.

And from there Conor Hennebry opened up a small gap on his own that proved the winning of the race.

Hahessy then beat Davenport in the sprint for 2nd. Kennedy came in on his own for 4th, with the remainder of the escape sprinting for 5th, Trulock filling that position from Keogh.

In the A4 race Lenny McManus (Drogheda Wheelers) won a bunch sprint from Jonathan Coffey (Scott Orwell) and John Halford (Gorey CC).


Sun, Aug 12: Collins Christle Memorial

Kilmessan, Co Meath

Promoted by Navan Road Club

A1-A2-A3 Race

  1. Conor Hennebry Viner-Caremark-Pactimo
  2. Sean Hahessy Viner-Caremark-Pactimo
  3. James Davenport Strata 3-VeloRevolution
  4. Paul Kennedy Newcastle West CC
  5. Dermot Trulock Lucan CRC
  6. Cian Keogh Sports Room Racing
  7. Andy Maguire Gerard DHL
  8. Sean Kennedy NRPT-Chill Insurance
  9. Liam Curley NRPT-Chill Insurance
  10. Tim O’Regan Killarney CC


A4 Race

  1. Lenny McManus Drogheda Wheelers
  2. John Coffee Scott Orwell
  3. John Halford Gorey CC
  4. Adrian Pretorious Blanch Wheelers
  5. Emmett Egan Gorey CC
  6. Seamus Caffrey Skane Wheelers
  7. Eoin McGreal Castlebar CC
  8. Paul Hannon De Ronde van Cork