Prendergast wins as breeze does serious damage in Co Mayo

Posted on: April 15th, 2018

Riding their home race, Charles Prendergast and his Castlebar CC team mates made no mistake in the main event at the end of a tough contest. The best of the A1 riders been in a breakaway from the start (Photo: Sean Rowe)


Charles Prendergast wins Castlebar GP from breakaway


Having finished runner-up at the Cycleways Cup last weekend, Charles Prendergast has gone one better on the other side of the country today.

The Castlebar man took a home time win in the Castlebar Grand Prix main event. He was too strong for the other breakaway men at the end of the contest.

The main event catered for all categories apart from A4, with promoting club Castlebar CC running it in handicapped format.

But with a gap of eight minutes between the scratch and limit groups; the A1s had a lot of road to make up.

At 125km in length, the race took the riders from Castlebar to Lahardane before a loop over Nephin Mountain.

The course then took the field down to Bellacorrick and back to Castlebar; the wind doing serious damage.

There wasn’t much cooperation in the scratch group; a large escape riding clear of it shortly after the start.

And it was that move that proved the winning of the racing; the strongest in it catching and going through the two groups ahead.

The 11-man group was made up of Dave Walsh, David Brody and Prendergast in the colours of the promoting club.

Ballina had strong brace up there; Paddy Clarke and Andrew Higgins.

Paul Kennedy was there for Newcastle West and Conor Gallagher, the first junior in the country upgraded to A2 this year, was representing NRPT-Chill Insurance.

The move was completed by Declan Maloney of Sports Room, Mark Shannon from Burren CC, Richie Meaney of Westport Covey Wheelers and Tralee’s former A3 Irish champion Cormac Daly.

They A1 breakaway only caught the A3 riders with about 30km remaining. And when the attacking commenced nearer to the finish Castlebar work very well as a team.

In the end five would reach the line together to sprint it out. Prendergast took victory from Daly, Meaney, Gallagher and Clarke.

Eoghan McCardle Ruane of Galway Bay CC was the best of the non-scratch riders; fairing well when caught by the A1s and taking 7th place for his efforts.


Sun, April 15: Castlebar GP (125km)

Promoted by Castlebar Cycling Club

Castlebar, Co Mayo

A1-A2-A3 Race

  1. Charles Prendergast Castlebar CC
  2. Cormac Daly Tralee Manor West
  3. Richie Meaney Westport Covey Wheelers
  4. Conor Gallagher NRPT-Chill Insurance
  5. Paddy Clarke Ballina CC
  6. Mark Shannon Burren CC
  7. Eoghan McCardle Ruane Galway Bay CC
  8. Dave Brody Castlebar CC
  9. Paul Kennedy Newcastle West CC
  10. Dave Walsh  Castlebar CC
  11. Eamon Daly Westport Covey Wheelers
  12. Canice McNay Newcastle West

Awaiting A4 race results…