Kennedy signals his intent with win by huge margin in Limerick

Posted on: March 16th, 2019

Newcastle West Cycling Club promoted its An Caislean Nua Classic in Co Limerick today. It ended in victory for the host club thanks to Paul Kennedy (Photo: George Doyle) 


Having become one of the most prolific riders in the country in recent years since switching from hurling, Paul Kennedy took a very impressive win today.

The Newcastle West Cycling Club man was riding his own club’s event; An Caislean Nua Classic.

In the end he won it solo by some 2½ minutes on the remains of a breakaway he’d been in during the 110km race in Tournafulla, Co Limerick.

Kennedy got clear from the start in a very strong group and they set about pulling out a gap on what was a cold and wet day for racing.

With the eventual winner in that group were Matthew Sparrow (Dan Morrissey-MIG-Pactimo), Richie Maes (Strata 3-VeloRevolution), Lacey Cup winner Conor Kissane (Killarney CC) and Dillon Corkery (Bio-DHL-FR Services).

After about 20km they were joined by Olympian Cathal Moynihan (Tralee Manor West) and Colm Sheehan (Blarney Cycling Club).

While the cooperation in the move, which contained a lot of firepower, was initially good; it began to fall off.

And at the end of the first lap of five, national criterium champion Corkery attacked. He pulled out a gap and then Kennedy decided to go after him.

A dangerous duo to let slip away, they shared the workload and gained a gap on the chase group.

And that’s the way it stayed for the next few laps; Corkery and Kennedy leading in a two-man move.

However, Kennedy was clearly keen to win his host club’s race and with about 30km remaining he attacked.

He managed to get clear of Corkery, who was eventually reabsorbed by the group behind.

Kennedy continued to plough on and had a lead of about 2½ minutes on the line; winning very well after an impressive performance.

Maes was best of the chasers; taking 2nd place from Kissane and Sparrow. Corkey was 5th and John Aherne of De Ronde van Cork rounded out the top six.

In the women’s event, the emerging junior rider Lucy O’Donnell of O’Leary Stone Kanturk was victorious.

Having performed formidably during the cyclocross season and gained selection for the Worlds, she has switched her form to the road.

Today she was best ahead of Leah Desmond (Bandon CC) with Yvonne Doran of Scott Orwell Wheelers rounding out the podium.


Sat, Mar 16th: An Caislean Nua Classic

Tournafulla, Co Limerick

Promoted by Newcastle West CC

A1-A2 Race

  1. Paul Kennedy Newcastle West CC
  2. Richard Maes Strata 3-VeloRevolution
  3. Conor Kissane Killarney Cycling Club
  4. Matthew Sparrow Dan Morrissey-MIG-Pactimo
  5. Dillon Corkery Bio-DHL-FR Services
  6. John Aherne De Ronde van Cork


Women’s Race

  1. Lucy O’Donnell O’Leary Stone Kanturk CC
  2. Leah Desmond Bandon CC
  3. Yvonne Doran Scott Orwell Wheelers
  4. Eva Brennan Deenside Wheelers
  5. Mary Daly Westport Covey Wheelers
  6. Ewa Kuras Arcane CT
  7. Elia Tutty TC Racing


A3 Race

  1. Tadgh O’Shea Killarney CC
  2. Barry Fitzgerald Killorglin CC
  3. Laurent Dumoulin O’Leary Stone Kanturk
  4. Bernard Sweeney Killorglin CC
  5. Ciaran Fitzgerald Limerick CC
  6. Mark Sheppard Limerick CC
  7. Tom O Connor O’Leary Stone Kanturk
  8. Carl Fogarty Club Rothaíochta na Sionainne


A4 Race

  1. Jason Costello Killorgin CC
  2. Dan Murphy Sliabh Luachra Cycling Club
  3. Paudie O’Sullivan Tralee Manor West
  4. Dave Beary Limerick CC
  5. Shane Kelly Newcastle West CC
  6. Dave Gordon Galway Bay CC