Bajolek and Conroy do the double for Scott-Eurocycles in Glencullen

Posted on: November 12th, 2018

Klaudia Bajolek took victory on a day when Scott-Eurocycles claimed the men’s and women’s races (Photo: John Hammer)


David Conroy ran out the winner of the men’s A race at Scott-Orwell’s cyclocross promotion in Glencullen adventure park yesterday.

Conroy (Scott Eurocycles) was best ahead of the Team Worc duo of Robin Seymour and Gavin O’Connell.

And in the women’s race it was Conroy’s team mate Klaudia Bajolek who claimed the win on the line after a battle with young Lucy O’Donnell (O’Leary Stone Kanturk).

However, while just one second separated the winner and runner-up in the women’s race, Conroy was a clearer victor of the men’s race.

He was pressed all the way by Seymour, the world Masters MTB champion chasing especially hard on the last couple of laps.

But by that point of the contest David Conroy had enough in hand to seal his latest win.

He had started very fast in the 10-lap race, putting more than 10 seconds of daylight between himself and the rest on the opening lap.

And while his gains were not as significant through the rest of the race, he continued to tap out an impressive rhythm that always looked like it would bring him victory.


David Conroy took the men’s race after a fast start was followed by further gains (Photo: Sean Rowe)


Conroy gained time on every lap until slowing just a little on laps eight and nine. And it was at that stage of the race that Seymour clocked some of his fastest laps.

He’d peg back Conroy by a few seconds on each of those two laps. But even after easing back a little towards the end of the race to celebrate, Conroy was still up by 38 seconds on Seymour on the line.

O’Connell was another 1:40 back, taking the last step on the podium. Sean Nolan of Navan Road Club also have a good account of himself.

The junior rider from Co Meath took 4th on the day, some 28 seconds back on O’Connell. And he was followed closely by Tim O’Regan of Team Worc.

The women competed over seven laps, with a great battle emerging at the head of affairs to decide victory on the day.

Eventual winner Klaudia Bajolek took an early lead, gaining five seconds over Lucy O’Donnell on the first lap.

However, the O’Leary Stone Kanturk rider came back at the Scott-Eurocycles woman. And that was to prove the pattern of the race.

Bajolek nicked time on her closest rival several times only for O’Donnell to show her grit and close the gap.

And when O’Donnell whipped around the fifth lap nine seconds quicker than Bajolek, it brought them together for the final two laps.

There was little to separate them on those final laps, except U23 rider Bajolek putting in a stronger finishing surge right at the end to win by a single second from her junior rival.

Stephanie Roche of promoting club Scott-Orwell was in 3rd place; from Mark Dawson (Bray Wheelers) in 4th and Aideen Kennan (Dublin Wheelers) rounding out the top five.


Sun, Nov 11: Scott-Orwell Cyclocross

Glencullen Adventure Parl

Men’s A Race

  1. David Conroy 42:44
  2. Robin Seymour Team WORC 43:22
  3. Gavin O’Connell Team WORC 45:02
  4. Sean Nolan Navan Road Club 45:30
  5. Tim O’Regan Team WORC 45:32
  6. Evan Ryan Team WORC 45:40
  7. Niall Somers WORC 46:02
  8. Ronan O’Flynn Scott Orwell Wheelers 46:28
  9. Seán Ó Tuathail Bray Wheelers 46:49
  10. Alan Cody 47:14


Women’s Race

  1. Klaudia Bajolek 39:58
  2. Lucy O’Donnell O’Leary Stone Kanturk 39:59
  3. Stephanie Roche Scott Orwell Wheelers
  4. Mary Dawson Bray Wheelers 42:31
  5. Aideen Keenan Dublin Wheelers CC 43:31
  6. Niamh Stephens TC Racing 44:37
  7. Aileen Flynn Velo Revolution 45:33
  8. Beata Golczak Unattached 46:24


Men’s B Race

  1. Anthony Clarke Bray Wheelers 41:22
  2. Fearghal Regan Murphy Surveys Kilcullen 42:36
  3. Ian O Connell Team WORC 43:02
  4. Billy Sheill Unattached 43:04
  5. Gabriel Blanco Unattached 43:25
  6. Cormac Keogh Murphy Surveys Kilcullen 43:28
  7. Philip Hayden Bray Wheelers 43:52
  8. Alan Killian St. Tiernan’s Cycling Club 44:15
  9. Marcin Wrobel Irish Cycle Sport 44:16
  10. Daragh Denning St. Tiernan’s Cycling Club 44:28