Glenn Kinning and Trudy Brown dominate Ulster Champs, Belfast

Posted on: December 3rd, 2017

Ulster Cyclocross Championships

At the Ulster Cyclocross Championships Glenn Kinning flew home in the men’s main event. And Trudy Brown dominated the women’s title race in similar fashion (Photo: Toby Watson)


Kinning, Brown win Ulster Cyclocross Championships


Promoting the Ulster Cyclocross Championships didn’t stop Glenn Kinning pinning on his numbers in Belfast today and winning the main event.

Despite the heavy workload leading up to the event, Kinning got away from the start like he meant business.

And for the full six laps at Mallusk Playing Fields he never let up. Despite some really quality riders in a group just behind, the Kinning Cycles man made it a race for 2nd place.

He had 11 seconds over David Montgomery after the opening lap. But former national champion Montgomery would slip out of the running.

Instead it was Dromara’s Barry Kellett and Graham Boyd of McConvey Cycles who would come through for silver and bronze on the day.

But Kinning wasn’t bothered about what was going on behind. He built his lead early and while his gains were more modest as the race went on; his opening burst won it for him.


Ulster Cyclocross Championships

Trudy Brown on the way to the gold medal in Belfast (Photo: Tony Mairs – The Belgian Project)


On the first lap he was 19 seconds quicker than Kellett and put another 14 into him on the second circuit.

He then settled into a rhythm that maintained his lead, and even marginally extended it by a few seconds each lap.

Kinning was quickest of the field on every circuit bar the final one, when he eased back to enjoy his moment.

But despite coming off the gas considerably at the end when he knew he had it won, he still took victory by a margin of 27 seconds.

Kellett was challenged on the closing laps by a fast-finishing Boyd. But the McConvey man’s powerful final two laps were not enough to get back to his rival.

A gap of just five seconds separated silver and bronze in the end. But Kellett did enough to ensure he prevailed in that battle.

In 4th place came Montgomery, just 15 seconds off the final podium place.

In the women’s race VC Glendale’s Trudy Brown owned the event in the manner Kinning did the men’s contest.

Rachel Irvine (Phoenix CC) held Brown to 10 seconds on the opening lap. But the leader was relentless thereafter; piling on the pressure.

She took an incredible 46 seconds out of Irvine on the second lap of five, with Julie Rea of Phoenix CC taking 3rd position.

And on each of the final three circuits Brown would gain an average of 33 seconds on Irvine and 35 on Rea.


Ulster Cyclocross Championships

Niamh McKiverigan wins the junior women’s title (Photo: TonyMairs – TheBelgianProject)


In the end Brown had 2:32 over Irvine at the finish, with Rea another 28 seconds back to take bronze.

The Masters 40 race was a very close contest; Colm McGarvey EPIC MTB -Expert Cycles winning by 16 seconds.

He took the title from Conor Campbell of Newry Wheelers CC, with just 15 further seconds elapsing before Bob Talbot of Harps CC won bronze.

McGarvey made his move on lap three, of five; taking all of his time in that section of the race out of Campbell.

In the Masters 50-60 race it was Aiden McDonald (Cuchulainn CC) who was first over the line by 24 seconds from his nearest rival.

But he was not eligible for the Ulster title and John Bogues (Phoenix CC) took that.

He finished just four seconds ahead of Peter McConville (Newry Wheelers CC).

They fought a tight battle for the whole race; McConville much faster on lap two.

But he was steadily reeled in all the way and eventually passed on the penultimate lap by Bogues. Christopher McCann (Banbridge CC) was 3rd.

Thomas Creighton (McConvey Cycles) and Niamh McKiverigan (Powerhouse Sport) took the junior crowns.


Ulster Cyclocross Championships 2017

Sun, Dec 3rd: Mallusk Playing Fields, Belfast

Hosted by Kinning Cycles

Elite Men

1 Glenn Kinning Kinning Cycles 51:13 Gold
2 Barry Kellett Dromara Cycling Club 51:40 Silver
3 Graham Boyd McConvey Cycles 51:45 Bronze
4 David Montgomery unattached 52:00
5 Darnell Moore Caldwell Cycles Omagh 53:00
6 Niall David 53:59
7 Christian Nachtigall Phoenix CC 55:04
8 Ross Collins McNally Swords CC 55:07
9 Dominic McCartan Apollo Cycling Team 55:34
10 Johnny Taylor Carn Wheelers 57:55


Elite Women

1 Trudy Brown VC Glendale 51:16
2 Rachel Irvine The Bike House CC 53:48
3 Julie Rea Phoenix CC 54:16
4 Diane Wilson Dromara Cycling Club 54:24
5 Helen White Stamullen RC 55:25
6 Martina Hawkins Shimna Wheelers Cycling Club -1 lap
7 Roisin Skeffington Square Wheels -1 lap
8 Ellie McArdle Square Wheels -1 lap


Junior Men

1 Thomas Creighton McConvey Cycles 42:32 Gold
2 Sean Nolan Navan Road Club 43:01
3 Breandán Flanagan Powerhouse Sport 43:38 Silver
4 Lee Harvey Kinning Cycles 43:55 Bronze
5 Jake Rushby North Down CC 50:01
6 Danny MacDonald Burren Cycling Club 51:25


Junior Women

1 Niamh McKiverigan Powerhouse Sport 41:57 Gold
2 Rachel McBride Omagh Wheelers Cycling Club 45:40 Silver


Masters 40

1 Colm McGarvey EPIC MTB / Expert Cycles 45:37
2 Conor Campbell Newry Wheelers CC 45:53
3 Bob Talbot Harps CC 46:08
4 Jason Henry unattached 46:48
5 Barry Convery Newry Wheelers CC 47:34
6 Drew McKinley Newry Wheelers CC 48:18
7 Stephen Hutchinson CCT 48:38
8 Ed Boyle Phoenix CC 48:39
9 Pearse O’Hagan Inspired Cycling 48:52
10 John Heverin Clann Eireann CC 49:51


Masters 50-60

1 Aiden McDonald Cuchulainn CC 47:20
2 John Bogues Phoenix CC 47:44 Gold
3 Peter McConville Newry Wheelers CC 47:48 Silver
4 Christopher McCann Banbridge CC 51:33 Bronze
5 Damien McGrane Team Madigan CC 52:29
6 Tony Boyle VC Glendale 52:41
7 Henry O’Neill Newry Wheelers CC 52:53
8 Deon McNeilly Shimna Wheelers Cycling Club 53:20
9 Ian Cochrane Banbridge CC 53:44
10 Mike Barton Dromara Cycling Club -1 lap


Ulster Cyclocross Youth Champs

U16 Boys
1 Ciaran Dixon Phoenix CC 26:23 Gold
2 Darren Rafferty Island Wheelers 26:36 Silver
3 Somhairle Owens fisher Omagh Wheelers CC 28:05 Bronze

U16 Girls
1Darcey Harkness Carn Wheelers 32:34
2 Maria McAllister Island Wheelers 33:36
3 Méabh Flannagan Ballymoney CC 38:51

U14 Boys
1 Adam Rafferty Island Wheelers 28:57 gold
2 Shane Scullion Island Wheelers 29:09 silver
3 Conor Gallagher Errigal Cycling Club 30:28 bronze

U14 Girls
1 Erin Creighton XMTB 32:54
2 Hannah Mullin trail demons cc 32:57
3 Rachel White North Down CC 41:22
4 Sophie Watson VC Glendale -1 lap