Rising star Gillespie (16) too good at Kilternan elite cyclocross

Posted on: September 3rd, 2017

cyclist Lara Gillespie cyclocross

Lara Gillespie takes the elite women’s event in Kilternan. She is one of the rising stars of Irish cycling.


Irish cyclist Lara Gillespie takes cyclocross win


The winner of a silver medal for Ireland at the European Youth Olympic Festival just six weeks ago, Lara Gillespie was on top of the podium yesterday.

The 16-year-old rider with Scott-Orwell won the elite women’s event at the Fixx Cyclocross Series in south Dublin yesterday.

It was the opening round of the 2017 edition of the winter series and Gillespie just about won from Maeve Morrogh (Unattached).

She finish just three seconds clear at the end of five laps and 40 minutes of racing. There was then a bigger gap back to 3rd placed Niamh Stephens.

The TC Racing riding was almost one minute back, finishing some 52 seconds after victor Gillespie.

It was nip and tuck the whole way at the head of affairs between leaders Gillespie and Morrogh. And it wasn’t until the very end that the eventual winner managed to press her superiority home.

There was a very healthy turnout of 23 riders in the women’s race; hopefully a sign of things to come for the season ahead.

Yesterday’s winner is on a high at the moment following her recent international success.

She claimed a silver medal at the European Youth Olympic Festival time trial at the end of July.

In the 10km TT in Gyor, Hungary, she was beaten only by one of the Swiss riders.


Sat, Sept 2: Round 1 Fixx Cyclocross Series

Kilternan, South Dublin

1 Lara Gillespie Orwell Wheelers 0:40:03
2 Maeve Morrogh Unattached 0:40:06
3 Niamh Stephens TC Racing 0:40:55
4 Breda Horan Orwey Wheelers 0:41:16
5 Lisa Stapelbroek Kenmare 0:41:44
6 Caoimhe May Scott-Orwell 0:42:31
7 Asia Bula TBD 0:42:45
8 Erica Grant Epic MTB 0:43:25
9 Caroline McArdle EPIC 0:43:27
10 Natalie Grieve Epic MTB 0:43:42
11 Aoife O’Brien Lakeside Wheelers 0:43:56
12 Maria McAlister Island Wheelers 0:44:11
13 Caroline Murphy Epic mtb 0:44:30
14 Stephanie Roche TBD 0:44:38
15 Aishling O’Connor Orwell Wheelers 0:45:15
16 Julie Egan Naas cycling club 0:45:20
17 Tara Kerins Epic/Expert Cycles 0:45:38
18 Annie Roche TBD 0:46:37
19 Una May Unattached 0:47:25
20 Lyndsey Bryce Dublin wheelers 0:47:27
21 Sandra Howard Bray Wheelers 0:47:48
22 Orla Conroy Bray Wheelers 0:41:17
23 Elaine Clarke Clontarf CC 0:42:28