Aiken and Brown too good for rivals at exciting Ulster Champs

Posted on: December 18th, 2016

National champion Roger Aiken shave one of the corners on his way to the Ulster men’s title; he’s been rampant over the last couple of months (Photo: Toby Watson)


With the national champion’s jersey on his back, Roger Aiken has reigned supreme on the Ulster cyclocross scene in recent months.

Win has followed win and he has looked untouchable through the season.

And with a provincial title on the line today in Belfast, the ASEA-Wheelworx man romped to victory once more.

In just over 50 minutes of racing, Aiken had 2:55 to spare on the silver medal winner, with the bronze medalist 3:35 down.

And when one considers the quality of the men who took those medals behind Aiken, the form he is in is really underlined.

Glenn Kinning is one of the very strongest ‘cross riders in the country and Graham Boyd is also very much in the top flight.

But Aiken got his nose in front early today and just kept going, consistently lapping an average of 20 to 25 seconds quicker than his nearest rivals, who were themselves putting daylight into the best of the rest.


Trudy Brown took the women’s crown for VC Glendale from Dromara’s Diane Wilson (Photo: Toby Watson)


And such was Aiken’s form on the Mallusk Playing Fields course that he will go into the national championships, where he seeks to defend his crown, as the red hot favourite next month.

In the women’s event in Belfast today, Trudy Brown brought home the bacon for VC Glendale.

She had enough in the tank to lift the provincial title by just over two minutes from Diane Wilson of Dromara, with Anne Duffy of Cuchulainn CC taking the bronze a little further back.

Because the Ulster title races are open to riders from all across the country, not everyone in the field is eligible for the medals.

And while the first three across the line in the men’s race were from Ulster and so took the gold, silver and bronze; in the women’s race two non-Ulster women came home first.


Peter McConville (Newry Wheelers) on his way to claiming the Masters 50-60 title from team mate Des Woods by just one second (Photo: Toby Watson)


National champion Beth McCluskey (Scott-Orwell) was first in from team mate Michelle Geoghegan. But Brown was next and as the first Ulster woman home she won the title.

McCluskey, like Aiken on the men’s scene, has been in great form of late and having won the elite women’s title last year she will be highly fancied to repeat that next month.

John Buller of Banbridge CC won the junior men’s Ulster title from Thomas Creighton (XMTB McConvey Cycles) and Matthew McAllister (Island Wheelers)

Alan Bingham of Cuchulainn CC took the Masters 40 title from Jason Henry (Unattached) and Stephen Cunningham (Shimna Wheelers).

Peter McConville (Newry Wheelers) claimed the Masters 50-60 title from team mate Des Woods by just one second and John Bogues (Phoenix CC) was 3rd one minute back.


Sun, Dec 18th: Ulster Cyclocross Champs

Mallusk Playing Fields, Belfast

Promoted by Kinning Cycles

Men’s Championship Race

1 Roger Aiken Asea Bike Worx 51:47
2 Glenn Kinning Kinning Cycles 54:42
3 Graham Boyd Xmtb McConvey Cycles 55:22
4 Barry Kellett Dromara Cycling Club 55:58
5 Dominic McCartan Apollo CT 55:58
6 Christian Nachtigall Phoenix CC 58:07
7 Ross Collins UCD Cycling Club 58:32
8 Craig Rea Phoenix CC 58:52
9 Derek Finnegan Keevan CC 58:59
10 Aaron Parks Cookstown Cycling Team CCT 59:26
11 Matthew Adair Banbridge CC 59:50
12 Johnny Taylor Carn Wheelers 59:57
13 David O’Neill Swords CC 1:00:01
14 Graham Smyth Dromara Cycling Club 1:00:12
15 Peter Davison Dromara Cycling Club 1:00:24
16 Sean Featherstone Newry Wheelers CC 1:01:14
17 Edward Kearney Phoenix CC 1:01:25
18 Joe McCrory Carn Wheelers 1:02:08
19 David Broome Dromara Cycling Club -1 lap
20 Tim Edgar Unattached -1 lap


Women’s Championship Race

1 Trudy Brown VC Glendale 56:17
2 Diane Wilson Dromara Cycling Club 58:20
3 Anne Duffy Cuchulainn CC -1 lap
4 Martina Hawkins Shimna Wheelers -1 lap
5 Angie Smyth Apollo CT -1 lap
6 Emma Convey Scott Orwell Wheelers -1 lap
7 Alwynne Shannon Newry Wheelers CC -1 lap
8 Roisin Skeffington Square Wheels CC -1 lap
9 Ruth Aiken Banbridge CC -1 lap
10 Fancea McNally Square Wheels CC -1 lap


Junior Men’s Race

1 John BULLER Banbridge CC 47:09
2 Thomas CREIGHTON Xmtb McConvey Cycles 47:36
3 Matthew MCALLISTER Island Wheelers 49:25
4 Conor HALVEY Errigal Cycling Club 50:17
5 Kyle FISHER Lakeland CC 52:51

Masters 40 Race

1 Alan BINGHAM Cuchulainn CC 46:21
2 Jason HENRY Unattached 46:57
3 Stephen CUNNINGHAM Shimna Wheelers 46:59
4 Brendan DOHERTY VC Glendale 47:37
5 Stephen HUTCHINSON Cookstown Cycling Team CCT 48:41
6 Stephen MCKENNA Omagh Wheelers 49:05
7 Gary SHEILS Newry Wheelers CC 49:21
8 Barry CONVERY Newry Wheelers CC 49:33
9 Cathal SMYTH Phoenix CC 50:25
10 Richard COWAN Dromara Cycling Club 51:03


Masters 50-60 Race

1 Peter MCCONVILLE Newry Wheelers CC 48:03
2 Des WOODS Newry Wheelers CC 48:04
3 John BOGUES Phoenix CC 49:05
4 Johnny MCCABE Cuchulainn CC 53:03
5 Henry O’ NEILL Newry Wheelers CC 53:30
6 Derek GRAHAM Dromara Cycling Club 53:36
7 Eamon MCCONVEY Newry Wheelers CC 54:14
8 Christopher MCCANN Banbridge CC 54:41
9 Brendan KIRK North Down CC -1 lap
10 Ray BEERS East Antrim – Audi -1 lap