With Video: Mullen lifts two senior track titles after stint at UCI centre of excellence

Posted on: August 7th, 2012

Mullen (top of photo, leading) came away from the meeting with two national titles (Photo: Brendan Whelan) See videos below story.

Mullen (top of photo, leading) came away from the meeting with two national titles (Photo: Brendan Whelan) See videos below story.


By Caroline Martinez

Eoin Mullen (Sundrive) has lifted two senior track titles in his first year out of the junior ranks; taking the Keirin crown and being part of the winning men’s Team Sprint quartet at the National Championships in Dublin at the weekend.

The Eamonn Ceannt Track at Sundrive Rd played host to the Team Sprint, Team Pursuit and Keirin Championships. While all three were full championship events for the men, there was just one national title up for grabs for the female competitors; the Team Sprint.

The women’s Team Pursuit and Keirin races were this year held as demonstration events only.

The weekend’s action effectively represents the first portion of the 2012 National Track Championships. A second, bigger meeting will be held next month to decide a much larger number of titles.

In the men’s Team Pursuit race, Murphy Surveys were once again the dominant force with the foursome having won the event three years in a row. Their flawless technique coupled with their strength in depth showed everyone how this event should be ridden. They edged out Iverk Produce-Carrick Wheelers, with Black Rose Racing taking the bronze medal.

In the Team Sprint events, the Sundrive Track Team’s strong technique paid off with its squads taking gold in both the men’s and women’s events.

Both line-ups were comprised of pure track specialists. The men’s team included Keith Meghen, Eoin Mullen and Donal Bailey. The women’s team was made up of Susie Mitchell and Sarah Gunn.

Eoin Mullen took his second gold from the championships in the Keirin in what was his first championship outing as a senior. The 18-year-old has spent the year training and racing in Switzerland, where he has been based at the UCI’s World Cycling Centre.

While he has his sights set on international goals, his riding at weekend the weekend was nonetheless a welcome boost for the Aran Islands man. He will be looking for more gold medals in the upcoming National Championships meeting in September.

The women’s Team Pursuit demonstration event was won by the ESB CC squad. The team was led by Roísín Kennedy who has won multiple track events over the years.

The women’s Keirin was won by reigning National Omnium Champion Sarah Piner (Black Rose Racing). The form she showed last month had not deserted her, putting in a powerful sprint inside the final 100 meters that the field simply could not match.

Due to the increase in the number of competitors in women’s track racing in Ireland, both the Keirin and Team Pursuit should receive full national championship status for women in 2013.

See the full results from all of the weekend’s events just below these two videos:


Videos by Caroline Martinez


Men’s Irish National Team Sprint, Team Pursuit and Keirin Championships 2012


Women’s Irish National Team Sprint, Team Pursuit and Keirin Championships 2012



Results from Team Pursuit, Team Sprint and Keirin National Championship

Eamonn Ceannt Stadium, Sundrive Road
Saturday 4th August 2912


Men’s Team Sprint

1 Sundrive Track Team ‘A’ 48.73
Eoin Mullen, Donal Bailey, Keith Meghen

2 Cycling Pursuits 49.24
Liam Collins, Kieran Leahy, Brendan Whelan

3 Bray ‘A’ 51.21
Ed O’ Brien ,Rob McGee, Jason Howick

4. Carrick Wheelers 52.14
Ray Cullen, Hugh Mulhearne, John Dempsey

5 Murphy Surveys Kilcullen 52.86
John Lynch, Steve Franzoni, Dave Peelo

6. Sundrive Track Team ‘B’ 53.99
John Mernagh, Colm O’Cuinneagain, Hugh Byrne

7 Bray ‘B’ 57.22
Martin Gilmore, Ger Ivory, Mark Loughran


Men’s Team Pursuit

1. Murphy Surveys Kilcullen 4”56.14
Gareth Enright, John Lynch , Mark Kiernan, David Peelo

2 Carrick Wheelers 5’14.07
Ray Cullen, Danny Carroll ,Hugh Mulhearne, John Dempsey

3. Black Rose 5’17.22
Aidan Reade, Stuart Cox , Eoghan Considine, Brian O’Donnell

4. Cycling Pursuits 5’21.58
Liam Collins , Kieran Leahy, Brendan Whelan, Fergus Whelan

5. Bray Wheelers 5’22.13
Ed O’Brien, Rob McGee, Jason Howick, Ger Ivory

6. Sundrive Track Team 5’26.47
Keith Meghen, Ger McNamara, John Mernagh, Gwyn O’Murchu


Men’s Keirin Final

1. Eoin Mullen (Sundrive)
2. David Neill (Phoenix)
3.Terry Mackin (Banbridge)


Women’s Team Sprint

1. Sundrive Track Team ‘A’ 39.03
Sarah Gunn, Susie Mitchell

2. Orwell ‘A’ 39.37
Aideen Collard, Sandra Telford

3. Black Rose 41.35
Sarah Piner, Mélisande Michaud

4. ESB CC 42.81
Roisin Kennedy, Catherine Halpin

5. Orwell ‘B’ 42.91
Mags Donnelly, Ciara Cinch

6 Wolftrap 43.40
Kate Rudd, Noreen Garahy

7. Sundrive Track Team ‘B’ 43.64
Caroline Martinez, Sonya O’Rourke 


Women’s Team Pursuit (Demo Event)

Roisin Kennedy, Catherine Halpin, Bronagh Rogers

2. Sundrive Track Team 4’35.98
Susie Mitchell, Sarah Gunn, Caroline Martinez

3. Orwell CC 4’41.16
Aideen Collard, Mags Donnelly, Ciara Kinch

4 Wolftrap 4.51.58
Kate Rudd, Noreen Garahy, Mary Hunter

5 Black Rose 5’05.19
Sarah Piner, Milasand Michaud, Paula Murray 


Women’s Keirin (Demo Event)

1. Sarah Piner (Black Rose)
2. Aideen Collard (Orwell)
3. Susie Mitchell (Sundrive)