Video: Bouhanni disqualified (again). But was he shafted this time?

Posted on: August 21st, 2016

Nacer Bouhanni thought he’d won the Cyclassics Hamburg (1.UWT) in Germany but was disqualified.


Nacer Bouhanni is one of the peloton’s more controversial characters; getting into trouble on and off the bike.

He’s had rows off the bike over being denied entry to jewellery stores and even ended up boxing with hotel guests and sustaining an injury that kept him out of this year’s Tour de France.

The French sprinter has also been disqualified in races and is rarely out of the limelight.

And he was right back under the spotlight today in Germany after he got relegated to last place for an irregular sprint.

He’s perfectly positioned at the head of the race coming to the line in the WorldTour-ranked one-day EuroEyes Cyclassic in Hamburg.

But he was judged to have deviated from his line and illegally barged Australian Caleb Ewan.

The latter, riding for Orica-BikeExchange, was awarded the win with home favourite John Degenkolb (Team Giant-Alpecin) next and Italian Giacomo Nizzolo (Trek-Segafredo) rounding out the podium.

It was interesting -and very unlike his relegation at the Tour de France last year – because there appears to be no immediate reaction from anyone, Ewan included.

The Australian took his beating and wheeled away while Bouhanni soaked up the praise and the acclaim.

Minutes passed before he was told he’d lost the race and details of his infringement were relayed to him.

Have a look and see what you think. There has been some discussion on social media suggesting he was disqualified for causing a crash inside the last 200 metres, but he appears to be too far ahead of the fallers to have had any role in that spill.

Meanwhile, Ryan Mullen (Cannondale-Drapac) and Sam Bennett (Bora-Argon 18) were also in action, the former finishing some three minutes down after performing team duties all afternoon while Bennett was a further two minutes back.


Bouhanni: Wronged or deservedly disqualified?