Track Champs: Teenager Mullen takes sprint title and record; Ryan bags pursuit crown

Posted on: September 1st, 2012


By Caroline Martinez

UCI scholarship rider Eoin Mullen (Sundrive Track Team) posted a new track record for the flying 200m time trial in the qualifying round of the men’s sprint at the National Track Championships at Sundrive Rd in Dublin today, covering the distance in 10.92sec.

The 19-year-old then went on to take gold in a 2-0 win in the best-of-three final against Peter Bennett (North Down).

It was Mullen’s third national track title so far this year – coming after taking the gold in the keirin and the team sprint with Sundrive in the first portion of the National Track Championships held last month.

Eamonn Byrne (Garda CC) won the bronze today against Jason Howick (Bray).

In the 3km women’s pursuit, World Track Championships bronze medallist Caroline Ryan (BGN Sports Management) took the title with a time of 3:51.

She beat London-based 25-year-old Lydia Boylan (Look Mum No Hands), whom she overtook 2kms into the final.

Boylan had set a personal best in the qualifiers with a time of 4:05. The bronze medal went to Susie Mitchell (Sundrive Track Team) with a time of 4:16.

In the men’s 4km pursuit, Hugh Mulhearn (Iverk Produce Carrick Wheelers) took the honours with a time of 5:00 to add to his omnium national title win on the same track last month.

He beat John Lynch (Murphy Survey Kilcullen) today who took silver with a time of 5:03. Local rider Sean Curtis (Sundrive Track Team) took bronze with 5:06.

In the women’s sprint event, Lydia Boylan (Look Mum No Hands) keeps her title for another year by beating Geraldine Gill (Bohermeen). In the bronze ride off, Orla Hendron (Orwell Wheelers) beat Ailbhe Ivory (UCD) 2-1.


National Track Championships Day 1

Women’s Sprint
1. Lydia Boylan (Look Mum No Hands)
2. Geraldine Gill (Bohermeen)
3. Orla Hendron (Orwell Wheelers)
4. Ailbhe Ivory (UCD)

Men’s Sprint
1. Eoin Mullen (Sundrive Track Team)
2. Peter Bennett (North Down)
3. Eamonn Byrne (Garda CC)
4. Jason Howick (Bray wheelers)

Men’s 4km Pursuit
1. Hugh Mulhearn (Iverk Produce – Carrick)
2. John Lynch (Murphy Surveys Kilcullen)
3. Sean Curtis (Sundrive Track Team)
4. Javan Nulty (DID Dunboyne)

Women’s 3km pursuit
1. Caroline Ryan
2. Lydia Boylan (Look Mum No Hands)
3. Susie Mitchell (Sundrive Track Team)
4. Geraldine Gill (Bohermeen)