Tour of Flanders 2019 prize money for men’s and women’s races

Posted on: April 9th, 2019
Tour of Flanders prize money: Women’s race winner Marta Bastianelli overcome after her victory or perhaps having just been told how bad the prize money is!

The first thing that strikes you when you look at the prize money for the Tour of Flanders is just how God awful it is.

The second issue that jumps out is the huge gap between the money for the men’s and women’s races; a 94 per cent difference to be precise.

The race is bigged up all over the world as one of the supremely prestigious events in world cycling.

TV rights are sold all over the world and a huge corporate day out has also grown around the race.

But it seems all of that hype doesn’t actually translate into hard cash; the riders sharing what can only be described as a paltry sum of prize money.

Indeed, the prizes in the women’s race are so poor the organisers would be better off scrapping cash prizes completely and pleading poverty.


Alberto Bettiol

Alberto Bettiol on his way to what was a spectacular win in the men’s race. He picked up a few bob for Tour of Flanders victory, but it wasn’t much.


Reigning European champion and former world champion Marta Bastianelli (Team Virtu) collected a pathetic €1,265 for her victory.

She was the only rider in the women’s Tour of Flanders to win over €1,000.

Annemiek van Vleuten (Mitchelton-Scott) claimed €935 for 2nd and there was just €625 for Bigla’s Cecilie Uttrip Ludwig in 3rd.

While the men’s race saw significantly more money put into the pot, it’s still embarrassingly poor for what is supposed to be one of the biggest one-day races in the world.

Winner Alberto Bettiol (EF Education First) collected €20,000 with runner-up Kasper Asgreen (Deceuninck-QuickStep) netted €10,000.

Alexander Kristoff (UAE Team Emirates) took just €5,000 for his 3rd place. And Mathieu van der Poel (Corendon-Circus) won the princely sum of €2,500 for 4th.

When one scans down the list, the money is as low as €1,000 for 6th place, taken by Oliver Naesen (AG2R-La Mondiale).


Tour of Flanders Prize Money: Men

  1. Alberto Bettiol EF Education First €20,000
  2. Kasper Asgreen Deceuninck-QuickStep €10,000
  3. Alexander Kristoff UAE Team Emirates €5,000
  4. Mathieu van der Poel Corendon-Circus €2,500
  5. Nils Politt Katusha-Alpecin €2,000
  6. Michael Matthews Team Sunweb €1,500
  7. Oliver Naesen AG2R-La Mondiale €1,000
  8. Alejandro Valverde Movistar €1,000
  9. Tiesj Benoot Lotto-Soudal €1,000
  10. Greg Van Avermaet CCC Team €500
  11. Peter Sagan Bora-hansgrohe €500
  12. Jens Keukeleire Lotto-Soudal €500
  13. Dries Van Gestel Sport Vlaanderen €500
  14. Wout Van Aert Jumbo-Visma €500
  15. Sebastian Langeveld EF Education First €500
  16.  Bob Jungels Deceuninck-QuickStep €500
  17. Yves Lampaert Deceuninck-QuickStep €500
  18. Dylan van Baarle Team Sky €500
  19. Jasper Stuyven Trek-Segafredo €500
  20. Stijn Vandenbergh AG2R-La Mondiale €500


Tour of Flanders Prize Money: Women

  1. Marta Bastianelli Team Virtu €1,265
  2. Annemiek van Vleuten Mitchelton-Scott €935
  3. Cecilie Uttrip Ludwig Bigla €625
  4. Sofia Bertizzolo Team Virtu €375
  5. Ellen van Dijk Trek-Segafredo Women €320
  6. Katarzyna Niewiadoma Canyon-SRAM €275
  7. Chantal Blak Boels-Dolmans €250
  8. Lisa Brennauer WNT-Rotor €220
  9. Lucinda Brand Sunweb €185
  10. Amy Pieters Boles-Dolmans €165
  11. Marta Cavalli Valcar Cylance €130
  12. Soraya Paladin Ale Cipollini €130
  13. Gracie Elvin Mitchelton-Scott €130
  14. Lisa Klein Canyon-SRAM €130
  15. Alison Jackson Tibco-SVB €130
  16. Sofie De Vuyst Parkhotel Valkenburg €100
  17. Elisa Longo Borghini Trek-Segafredo  €100
  18. Vita Heine Hitec Products €100
  19. Floortje Mackaij Team Sunweb €100
  20. Amanda Spratt Mitchelton-Scott €100