Strong Irish teams named for European Youth Olympics in Georgia

Posted on: May 30th, 2015

Amanda Gallagher is one of two Errigal CC riders on the Irish team for the European Youth Olympic Festival (EYOF) in Georgia later in the summer. Her clubmate Shauna McFadden has also been selected while there’s a very solid look about the boys’ team (Picture: Brendan Slattery)


Cycling Ireland has named very strong teams for the upcoming European Youth Olympics Festival in Georgia from July 26th to August 1st.

The boys’ team comprises Conor Gallagher (Castlebar CC), Luke Smith (Moynalty Skyway) and Ronan Tuomey (Cork Giant).

The two-rider girls’ team is made up of Amanda Gallagher and Shauna McFadden, both of Errigal CC.

Harvey Barnes (East Tyrone CC) has been named as a reserve for the boys’ team.

And should any of those named in the selection fall ill or suffer a dip in form he will move into the team proper.

The teams were picked following four selection races, including the time-trial at Rás Maigh Eo in early March, the CicliSport Grand Prix in Cookstown also in March, the opening road stage of Rás na nÓg in Drogheda in mid-April and the second stage of the Kanturk Two-Day in early May.

The maximum number of riders Ireland can send is six; three boys and three girls.

It means there is space for one more girl, if Cycling Ireland decide to fill it.


Corkman Ronan Tuomey is a classy rider and was a certainty for the team. The Cork Giant man is capable of some big results and has already tasted success abroad.


The federation had stated prior to the selection races that if the riders were not deemed up to the standard then the quota would not be filled.

Both teams were picked by a three-person selection committee made up of Martin O’Loughlin, Nicola McKiverigan and Cycling Ireland’s chief executive Geoff Liffey.

Qualification for the team was open to both boys and girls born in 1999 and 2000.

The European Youth Olympics are a very prestigious event and attract the best up-and-coming athletes across a range of sports.

Ireland has a long tradition of sending riders as it’s seen as a very good stepping stone to the junior ranks.

Among those who have competed in recent years are Michael O’Loughlin, Eddie Dunbar, Mark Downey, Jason Prendergast, Jake Gray, Declan Mulholland, Emily Birchall, Ciara Doogan and Josie Knight.

We’ll be keeping you up to date with the team and their preparations closer to the event.