New Cycling Ireland A1 rankings, younger generation rising

Posted on: April 19th, 2017

New Cycling Ireland A1 rankings, younger generation rising

New Cycling Ireland A1 rankings, younger generation rising

Matteo Cigala, left, is still on top of the Cycling Ireland A1 rankings but the younger generation are coming through, including riders like Conn McDunphy, right (Photo: Sean Rowe)


Matteo Cigala is further ahead in the Cycling Ireland A1 rankings after the busy Easter weekend.

However, young guns Angus Fyffe (Omagh Wheelers) and Conn McDunphy (Lucan CRC) are pressing at the top.

And while established name Eoin Morton ( is next, other young riders are just behind him.

The ever-improving Darnell Moore (Caldwell Cycles) is 5th in the rankings. He must fancy his chances of filling an Irish jersey soon.

And Mark O’Callaghan, an Irish U23 team mate of McDunphy’s at Rás Mumhan, is in 6th place in the rankings.

On top, Cigala of Aqua Blue Sport Academy has been going very well all season.

But he has bolstered his points tally with some recent victories, the latest coming in the final stage of Rás Mumhan.

Cigala opened his account with victory in the Bobby Power Memorial in Carrick-on-Suit on St Patrick’s Day.

But aside from that win and his victory in Kerry on Easter Monday, he has been on the podium no fewer than six times so far this year.


New Cycling Ireland A1 rankings, younger generation rising

New Cycling Ireland A1 rankings, younger generation rising

New Cycling Ireland A1 rankings, younger generation rising

Top to bottom: Angus Fyffe, Paul Kennedy and Mark O’Callaghan.


Cigala was 2nd in a number of events including: the Annaclone GP, Tour of Ards, Kilmessan GP, John Reilly Cup and the opening stage at Rás Mumhan.

That all combines to give him a points total of 116, compared to Fyffe’s 94 points.

The former An Post-Chainreaction rider is in fantastic form and has won four races already this year.

He has taken the John Moore Memorial, McCann Cup, Wallace Caldwell, and the East Tyrone GP.

At Easter he rode the Tour of the North and excelled. He was 5th overall and was 5th and 2nd on stages three and four respectively.

McDunphy has taken two wins this year so far; the Boyne GP and Tour of Ards.

He was also 2nd in the Cycleways Cup and 3rd in the Newbridge GP at the start of the year.

At Rás Mumhan he made his debut for Ireland and proved well worth his place.

He made the winning breakaway on stage 2 when he took 5th. He was 10th on the final stage and 9th overall. He has run up a points total of 65 to date.

Morton also has 65 points, Moore 63 and O’Callaghan 62.

Meanwhile, Paul Kennedy’s stage win at Rás Mumhan, where he held the yellow jersey, has helped him climb the rankings.

He is now 7th and has 57 points having also won the Mick Lally Memorial at the start of the campaign.


Cycling Ireland A1 rankings, April 19th

1 Matteo Cigala Aqua Blue Sport Academy 116
2 Angus Fyffe Omagh Wheelers Cycling Club 94
3 Conn McDunphy Lucan Cycling Road Club 65
4 Eoin Morton UCD Cycling Club 65
5 Darnell Moore Caldwell Cycles Omagh 63
6 Mark O’Callaghan Aqua Blue Sport Academy 62
7 Mark Dowling STRATA3/VeloRevolution Racing Team 61
8 Paul Kennedy Newcastle West Cycling Club 57
9 Lindsay Watson Powerhouse Sport 57
10 David Watson The Bike House CC 57
11 Darragh O’Mahony O’Leary Stone Kanturk 52
12 Ronan McLaughlin Aqua Blue Sport Academy 48
13 Ryan Reilly Amicale Cycliste Bisontine 47
14 Dermot Trulock Lucan Cycling Road Club 47
15 Philip Lavery Un-Attached Leinster 46
16 Christopher McGlinchey Chain Reaction Cycles 44
17 Cathal Moynihan Tralee Manor West iBike 36
18 Jamie Blanchfield Carrick Wheelers Cycling Club 34
19 Jude Sands Newry Wheelers CC 32
20 John Hodge Dungarvan CC 29
21 Javan Nulty North Down CC 27
22 Marc Potts Neon Velo 27
23 Mark Shannon Burren Cycling Club 26
24 Craig Rea Phoenix CC 26
25 David Hamilton North Down CC 25
26 Seán Lacey Aqua Blue Sport Academy 25
27 Adam Stenson TEAM BIKEWORX Celbridge 21
28 Craig McAuley Caldwell Cycles Omagh 20
29 Louis Carnec UCD Cycling Club 19
30 Dermot Radford Tipp Wheelers 17
31 Cian Delaney Stamullen RC 17
32 Alastair Gribbon Carn Wheelers 16
33 Richard Maes Killarney Cycling Club 16
34 Simon Ryan STRATA3/VeloRevolution Racing Team 15
35 Shane Kenny Newcastle West Cycling Club 15
36 Dominic Mc Cartan Apollo Cycling Team 15
37 Cameron McIntyre Amicale Cycliste Bisontine 14
38 Darragh McCarter Donegal Bay Cycling Club 14
39 Fintan Ryan 14
40 Paul McCarter Donegal Bay Cycling Club 14
41 Mark Reilly Lucan Cycling Road Club 13
42 Gareth McKee Banbridge CC 13
43 Seán Hahessy Aqua Blue Sport Academy 13
44 Roger Aiken Un-Attached Ulster 13
45 Stephen Murray STRATA3/VeloRevolution Racing Team 13
46 Paidi O’Brien Un-Attached Munster 13
47 David Brody Team iTAP 11
48 Keith Finn Team Planet X Carnac 11
49 Eoin O’Connell Killarney Cycling Club 11
50 Aaron Parks CCT 10
51 Brian McNally Scott Orwell Wheelers Cycling Club 10
52 Cian O’Reilly UCD Cycling Club 10
53 Anthony Murray Westport Covey Wheelers Cycling Club 9
54 Paul Wilkinson West Down Wheelers 9
55 Seán O’Malley Western Lakes CC 9
56 Jarlath Hassett Burren Cycling Club 9
57 Alan Bingham Cuchulainn CC 8
58 john clarke Navan Road Club 8
59 Liam Dolan Cuchulainn CC 7
60 Stephen Shanahan Limerick Cycling Club 7
61 Ronan Killeen Lucan Cycling Road Club 7
62 Jody Wright Phoenix CC 7
63 Gary Donaldson Omagh Wheelers Cycling Club 7
64 Gary Scully Nenagh Cycling Club 7
65 Jonathan Taylor Carn Wheelers 7
66 Martin Cullinane Comeragh CC 7
67 Sean Yelverton Carrick Wheelers Cycling Club 6
68 Dwayne Kirwan Waterford Racing Club 6
69 Robin Kelly Waterford Racing Club 6
70 Rory Devlin Inishowen Wheelers 5
71 Sean Moore TEAM BIKEWORX Celbridge 5
72 Keith Phillips North Down CC 5
73 James Davenport STRATA3/VeloRevolution Racing Team 5
74 lewis ferguson The Bike House CC 5
75 James McGreevy Westport Covey Wheelers Cycling Club 5
76 Cormac Daly Tralee Manor West iBike 5
77 Ciaran McVeigh Phoenix CC 5
78 Aaron O’Brien Newcastle West Cycling Club 4
79 Christopher Birney Team Sportactive Racing 4
80 Mark Millar Velo Cafe Magasin 4
81 Richard Meaney Westport Covey Wheelers Cycling Club 4
82 Ronan O’Flynn Scott Orwell Wheelers Cycling Club 4
83 James Ambrose The Bike House CC 3
84 Anthony Walsh Aqua Blue Sport Academy 3
85 Conor McCann Inspired Cycling 3
86 Kenny Wilson Un-Attached Ulster 2
87 Kevin McKinney Armagh City Cyclists 2
88 Cathal Purcell Carrick Wheelers Cycling Club 2
89 Des Woods Newry Wheelers CC 2
90 Constantin Bartels Waterford Racing Club 2
91 Michael Lucey STRATA3/VeloRevolution Racing Team 2
92 Stephen McKenna Omagh Wheelers Cycling Club 1
93 Simon Kelly Burren Cycling Club 1
94 Clinton O mahony MSL Mercedes-Benz Cork Giant 1
95 John O Fitzpatrick CKR Cycling Club 1
96 Christopher Reilly Bohermeen CC 1