Mick Lally Memorial to begin new season; restricted numbers in all races

Posted on: February 19th, 2019

Mick Lally Memorial Dublin Wheelers

Paul Kennedy winning the Mick Lally Memorial in 2017 after a fantastic contest. This year there are three races down for decision and numbers in each event are being capped at 80 riders. (Photo: Darragh McManamon)


The Mick Lally Memorial in Co Meath will get the Irish road racing season underway on Saturday week, March 2nd.

Dublin Wheelers has opened the entry system for the main event and the support races. The fields are restricted to 80 riders for each race.

You can enter by following this link and with demand strong since the entry system opened yesterday, you would be best advised to get in quick.

The host club is laying on three fixtures in the shape of the Mick Lally race for A+-A1-A2 riders, the Ian Gallahar Memorial for A3s followed by the Willie Marks Memorial Race for A4s.

Race headquarters is at the Summerhill Community Centre, Enfield Rd, Summerhill, Co Meath.

The racing unfolds over the Dorey’s Forge circuit. The action will start from race HQ, with the races neutralised for 1.4km to the official start at Elliott’s garage on the Dunboyne road.

From there, the racing goes in the direction of Dunboyne before turning left at Mullagh cross roads after 6km and heading in the direction of Dunshaughlin.

When the racing reaches the Trim road it goes left and down Warrenstown before swinging left again at Grange crossroads.

It then goes up the steep Dorey’s Forge ramp and before completing the circuit shortly after that hill. Sign on is from 9am to 10am.

The Mick Lally Memorial main event leaves race HQ at 10.30am with racing proper commencing at 10.45am.

The A+-A1-A2 riders do just under four laps for a total race distance of 87.8km, with the event finishing at the top of the Dorey’s Forge climb on the fourth passage.

The promoting club puts the estimated finish time between 12:49pm and 1.15pm.

The A3 Ian Gallahar Memorial is just under three laps of the same course, leaving race HQ at 10:45am with racing proper starting at 10:55am.

The finish is atop Dorey’s Forge on the third passage. The A3s will race for 65km and their event will finish sometime between 12.27pm and 12.46pm.

The A4 Dublin Wheelers GP is just under two laps, or 42.4km. It rolls out of race HQ at 10.55am and starts officially at 11.03am.

The last lap of each race will be slightly shorter than the preceding laps because the races finish on Dorey’s Forge rather than at the start line of Elliott’s garage a little further up the road.

The prize presentation for all three races takes place from 1.45pm at race HQ.