Irish elite men’s road race team named for Euro Champs

Posted on: August 7th, 2018

Cycling Ireland

Ryan Mullen took a rare elite championships medal for Ireland at the Europeans last year in the TT. He competes in the test in Glasgow tomorrow but has not been named in Sunday’s line-up (Photo: Sean Rowe)


Cycling Ireland confirms men’s Euros road race team


Cycling Ireland has confirmed the elite men’s team that will ride the road race at the European Championships in Glasgow on Sunday.

Last month the federation had named a long list from which it said the final team would be picked.

The team will consist of Aqua Blue Sport riders Eddie Dunbar and Conor Dunne.

Robert Jon McCarthy (JLT-Condor) is also selected along with Marc Potts (Unattached) and Matt Teggart (Team Wiggins).


Cycling Ireland

Cycling Ireland

Robert Jon McCarthy winning a stage of Rás 2018. Eddie Dunbar victorious in the U23 Tour of Flanders two years ago. Both ride in Glasgow on Sunday while Dunbar also rides the TT tomorrow.


Those who had been on the long list but who are not named in the final team include Dan Martin (UAE Team Emirates), Philip Deignan (Team Sky) and Ryan Mullen (Trek-Segafredo).

Mark Downey of Team Wiggins was also on the long list as were Holdsworth Pro Racing riders Damien Shaw and Sean McKenna.

However, one of those may yet rider as Cycling Ireland said the final place on the team is still to be confirmed.

There are three riders named last month for the two men’s TT slots available to Ireland. The three are Mullen and Dunbar along with Marcus Christie (SBR Performance).

However, it is Dunbar and Mullen who ride tomorrow’s test. Christie misses out this time.

In the women’s TT, also tomorrow, Eileen Burns and Kelly Murphy ride for Ireland. Cycling Ireland had confirmed the Irish women as the two starters when the men’s long lists were unveiled last month.