Former Cycling Ireland chief to run in Olympic Council elections

Posted on: January 11th, 2017

Cycling Ireland recently sought expressions of interest from cyclists in the Olympic Council of Ireland elections. And now former president of the federation PJ Nolan is set to step into the contest.


Well know cycling figure and the former president of Cycling Ireland, PJ Nolan, is to contest the upcoming Olympic Council of Ireland elections.

Nolan is Cycling Ireland’s nominee to run for a position on the board of the OCI as an executive member.

There are seven executive member posts to be filled and Nolan has been put forward to context next month’s election having won the backing of the board of Cycling Ireland.

Nolan was president of the national federation from 2000 to 2004 and is a member of the wider Nolan family that has been key to developing Navan Road Club.

A former broadcaster who worked on RTE’s agricultural programming, Nolan has kept his hand in with the television world as a cycling commentator during Olympic coverage over the years.

Current Cycling Ireland president Ciaran McKenna said he was delighted Nolan was being put forward to contest the election.

“PJ will bring a fresh impetus to the OCI,” McKenna said.

“His wealth of knowledge of cycling from grass roots up to international level, and his communication skills will be well served on the new OCI board, if elected.”

Nolan said he was hopeful of being elected.

“I am honoured to be given this opportunity by Cycling Ireland and I will endeavour to the best of my ability to represent the best interests of the OCI and Cycling Ireland if I am fortunate enough to be elected to the Olympic Council,” he said.

“I feel that the OCI has huge potential in terms of promoting the image of Olympic Sport and the recent controversy can be turned into an opportunity to show a new, fresh insight into how people can identify with the Olympic Games.”

The election of the OCI executive committee will take place at a general meeting on February 9th.

The positions to be filled include: president, 1st vice president, 2nd vice president, honorary general secretary, honorary treasurer and seven executive members posts.