Irish Criterium Champs attract quality fields to fight for national titles

Posted on: July 11th, 2019
Dillon Corkery Irish crit champion
Dillon Corkery’s mother was fit to burst with pride last year when her young son stormed in to be crowned national elite criterium champion in Mullingar. Can he retain it in Galway tonight and who will be crowned women’s champion?

Dillon Corkery (Bioracer-DHL-FRS) goes into this evening’s Irish criterium championships in Co Galway as the defending men’s champion and is one of the favourites to take the 2019 title.

In Mullingar last year the Irish road international escaped with Damien Shaw and beat him in a two-up sprint while Darnell Moore (Caldwell Cycles) came through for 3rd.

Shaw is not back this time around but Corkery and Moore are. And they are two of the many men who have the legs to win.

Corkery’s team has the biggest and best line-up in the race and if they can cover the moves and ride smart they have a great chance.

The defending champion lines up alongside Aaron Doherty, Adam Ward, John Buller, Jack Caldwell, Luke Smith and Sean Moore.

But a lone ride who is going well and gets a bit of luck, something that is crucial in short and sharp racing, can sidestep any team and win.

Other possible medal winners include: Darnell Moore and Angus Fyffe of Caldwell Cycles; Charlie Prendergast of Castlebar Cycling Club; Conor Hennebry of Morrissey-MIG-Pactimo; Fintan Ryan of Kingspan; Lindsay Watson of Powerhouse Sport; Cian May of Lucan CRC; Mark Quigley and Richie Maes of Strata 3-VeloRevolution.

The unattached Ronan Tuomey and former champion Mark Dowling. Indeed, Dowling will be many people’s outright favourite for the gold medal.

Claffey winning the recent Stephen Roche GP. She’s in the field for tonight and may well take a medal.

The men’s and women’s titles will be decided on the Pallas karting circuit in Tynagh, Co Galway.

Last year’s women’s race, which was a demonstration event, saw Fiona Guihen emerge victorious.

She took a strong solo win in the colours of Black Rose Racing. Jennifer Bates, a team mate of men’s winner Corkery, took 2nd on the night. And rounding out the podium was Lyndsey Bryce of Dublin Wheelers.

The women’s field this time around is very interesting in that it brings together riders from across disciplines to see them tested against each other.

The in-form road rider Máire Claffey (UCD Cycling Club) is on the start list as is her team mate, and track specialist, Orla Walsh.

Jennifer Bates is back again and will be looking to repeat her podium of last year and this time get a medal for her efforts.

Grace Young (Strata 3-VeloRevolution) put in a very good ride at the recent national road championships and is a possible medal winner tonight.

And then there are some standout names in Lauren Creamer (Brotherton Cycles), Maria Larkin (Chicago Cuttin Crew) and Shannon McCurley (Unattached Leinster).

Creamer is a road international, Larkin a cyclocross international and McCurley a track Olympian.

How they will do against each other in criterium racing should be very interesting to see.

Thurs, July 11: National Crit Champs

Tynagh, Co Galway

Promoted by Galway Bay CC

Men’s Start List

  1. Dillon Corkery Bioracer-DHL-FR Services
  2. Aaron Doherty Bioracer-DHL-FR Services
  3. Adam Ward Bioracer-DHL-FR Services
  4. John Buller Bioracer-DHL-FR Services
  5. Jack Caldwell Bioracer-DHL-FR Services
  6. Luke Smith Bioracer-DHL-FR Services
  7. Sean Moore Bioracer-DHL-FR Services
  8. Cathal Dillane Galway Bay Cycling Club
  9. Eoghan McArdle Ruane, Galway Bay Cycling Club
  10. Cillian Murphy Galway Bay Cycling Club
  11. Marty Mannion Galway Bay Cycling Club
  12. Angus Fyffe Team Caldwell Cycles
  13. Darnell Moore Team Caldwell Cycles
  14. Cian Keogh Ciclotel Travel fueled by YPB
  15. David Brennan Castlebar Cycling Club
  16. David Brody Castlebar Cycling Club
  17. David Walshe Castlebar Cycling Club
  18. Charlie Prendergast Castlebar Cycling Club
  19. David Conroy Scott
  20. Conor Hennebry Morrissey-MIG–Pactimo
  21. Cormac Daly CRCA/Good Guys Racing
  22. Fintan Ryan
  23. John Priest Lucan Cycling Road Club
  24. Robert Farrell Lucan Cycling Road Club
  25. Cian May Lucan Cycling Road Club
  26. Lindsey Watson Powerhouse Sport
  27. Richard Maes Strata 3-VeloRevolution
  28. Mark Quigley Strata 3-VeloRevolutio
  29. Stephen Murphy Black Rose Racing
  30. Luke Kearney South East Road Club
  31. Sean Molloy Nenagh Cycling Club
  32. Derry McNamara Dolmen Cycling Club
  33. Declan Egan Kingston Wheelers
  34. Billy Crosbie Sundrive Track Team
  35. Jason Kenny UCD Cycling Club
  36. Rhys Kenny Comeragh CC
  37. Cian Noone Challenge Cycling Club
  38. Stephen Conroy Lucan Cycling Road Club
  39. Andre Grennell Arcane Cycling Team
  40. Simon Kelly Burren Cycling Cub
  41. Séan O’Malley Western Lakes Cycling Club
  42. David Kyle Panduit Carrick Wheelers
  43. John McCormack Unattached Leinster
  44. Ronan Tuomey Unattached Munster
  45. Mark Dowling Unattached Leinster
  46. Kieran McGlynn Unattached Connacht
Fiona Guihen was victorious during last year’s women’s race when there was no title on offer as it was a demonstration event. However, this time around it’s a full-blown title race

Women’s Start List

  1. Michelle McKinney Galway Bay Cycling Club
  2. Julie Rea Phoenix Cycling Club
  3. Orla Hendron Scott Orwell Wheelers Cycling Club
  4. Lisa Stapelbroek Kenmare Cycling Club
  5. Debbie-Lee Gaffney Team Cavan Racing
  6. Maura Claffey UCD Cycling Club
  7. Orla Walsh UCD Cycling Club
  8. Lucy O’Donnell O’Leary Stone Kanturk
  9. Jennifer Bates Team Bioracer-DHL-FR Services
  10. Katie Earlie St Tiernans Cycling Club
  11. Ellen McDermott Team Boompods
  12. Aaron Fox Scott Orwell Wheelers Cycling Club
  13. Lisa Cassidy Dunboyne Cycling Club
  14. Nikki Taggart Arcane Cycling Team
  15. Grace Young STRATA3/VeloRevolution Racing Team
  16. Laura Banfield McNally Swords CC
  17. Lauren Creamer Brotherton Cycles
  18. Maria Larkin Chicago Cuttin Crew
  19. Ailbhe Carroll Unattached Munster
  20. Shannon McCurley Unattached Leinster